Scholarship named for fallen school trustee

A scholarship has been established in the name of Douglas County School Board member and education advocate Connie Wennhold who died in March.

The Connie Wennhold Memorial Scholarship will grant two $1,000 awards to Douglas High School graduating students - one scholarship for a student planning to attend a technical, trade, career or vocational school and another going to a student planning to attend college.

Requirements for both scholarships:

-- Minimum 2.5 grade point average,

-- two letters of recommendation from a teacher, employer, friend of family or adult family member,

-- involvement in service organizations or community service,

-- an essay about interests or talents, school and career goals, community involvement and why a scholarship would be helpful,

-- a description of any other scholarship awards.

Applications are to be turned into Phyllis Bateman at the scholarship office inside the Douglas High School Media Center by May 18 with interviews beginning May 21.

Douglas High School scholarship night is May 23 at Carson Valley Christian Center in Minden.

Contributions to the Connie Wennhold Memorial Scholarship fund may be sent to Douglas High School, P.O. Box 1888, Minden, 89423.

For more information about scholarships, go to the Douglas High School Web site, or contact scholarship advisor Bateman at 782-5136, ext. 1136.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment