21 submit formal applications for justice of the peace

Resumes of 21 applicants for East Fork Justice of the Peace are under review by a five-member selection committee set to present recommendations for the top candidates to county commissioners by Oct. 22.

Fifteen people bowed out of the process after commissioners set up the formal procedure that required candidates to fill out a lengthy application.

District Judge Dave Gamble, asked by County Manager T. Michael Brown to set up the review committee, said Monday he based it on the process used to select district court judges when there is a mid-term vacancy.

"I'm trying to mirror that process on a slightly more informal basis," Gamble said. "I anticipate the committee will determine who they want to interview, interview them and following that, make recommendations to the county manager for presentation to the commission."

Gamble confirmed the committee members are former Douglas County Clerk-Treasurer Barbara Griffin, Carson District Judge Todd Russell, attorney Kara Hayes, Carson City Sheriff's Chief Deputy Ray Saylo and Bill Henderson, Carson Valley Inn director of sales.

All of the members except Russell are Douglas County residents.

"I chose people who represent a cross-section of the community and surrounding area," Gamble said. "The committee has met once and will continue to meet until they're done. Their deadline is Oct. 22."

Commissioners plan to interview the top five candidates and name the new judge on Nov. 4.

Senior Justice Steven McMorris is filling the vacancy until the new judge is named. The opening occurred following the Aug. 6 resignation of Justice of the Peace Jim EnEarl.

On Oct. 7, commissioners set the salary for the incoming judge between $88,254-$118,580.

The successful candidate faces election after the six-year term expires in December, 2012.

The job, with minimal requirements, originally attracted three dozen candidates. State law requires that the judge be at least 18 with a high school diploma or equivalent, eligible to vote, and a resident of East Fork Township for at least 30 days.

Based on population, East Fork Township doesn't require a lawyer to be justice of the peace.

Past justices, including EnEarl and his predecessor Doug Struthers, have had law enforcement backgrounds.

In addition, he or she may never have been removed or retired from office for judicial misconduct.

Six of the 21 applicants are lawyers, the remainder come legal, business and law enforcement backgrounds.

Gamble said he was advised by District Attorney Mark Jackson the selection committee was not subject to the open meeting law and could meet privately.

Gamble said he was not on the committee and only acted as facilitator bringing the members together.

"I want the public to respect the process and allow them to do their work based on interviews with the candidates and the very extensive applications the people have filed," Gamble said.



Gail L. Allen, Minden, self-employed accounting and computer consultant;

Ronald F. Cauley, Gardnerville, attorney;

Kelly R. Chase, Minden, attorney;

Justin M. Clouser, Minden, attorney;

Tami J. DiSalvo, Gardnerville, supervising deputy probation officer, El Dorado County;

Wayne Fazzino, Minden, special investigator, Nevada Attorney General's office;

Jane Foraker-Thompson, Gardnerville, retired Nevada criminologist;

Erik A. Levin, Minden, Douglas County deputy district attorney;

John J. Louritt, III, Gardnerville, casino surveillance department manager, former police detective;

Ursula McManus, Gardnerville, district court judicial assistant;

Doreen Nelson, Minden, project manager;

Thomas E. Perkins, Minden, attorney;

Peter D. Quenzer, Genoa, retired property manager, volunteer court bailiff;

William E. Simpson, Gardnerville, deputy chief, State of Nevada, Office of the Military;

James T. Slade, Gardnerville, international guide;

Anthony Spotts, Gardnerville, administrative secretary;

Kip R. Steele, Gardnerville, investigator, Nevada Real Estate Division;

Pamela B. Sturlin, Gardnerville, legal office manager;

Steven J. Thaler, Minden, director, Douglas County Juvenile Camp Services;

Laura A. Valentine, Gardnerville, business owner, clinical program planner Division of Mental Health and Developmental Services;

Jennifer Yturbide, Minden, attorney.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment