CVAA offering visual arts scholarships

The Carson Valley Artists Association is offering two scholarships for Douglas County graduating seniors, who wish to continue their art education toward the goal of a career in the visual arts. The visual arts include paintings in all media, photography, computer generated images and sculpture from all materials. The CVAA awards a $1,000 scholarship, as well as the Elizabeth Johnson $1,000 scholarship. Additional scholarships have been awarded when the number of qualified applicants warrant them and supplemental awards have been made to continuing students who have demonstrated their progress toward their goals.

Applicants, from Douglas High School and Whittell High School are required to complete the general scholarship form, prepare a short essay on themselves and their carreer goals and provide two letters of recommendation. The completed scholarship form, essay and letters are to be turned into the counselors office by March 29. They will be picked up by the CVAA Scholarship Committee on March 30.

Graduating seniors from a private high school should contact their counselor for assistance in the application process. The required items will be similar to those listed for the public high schools.

If you are home schooled, please contact, Beth Bosman at 782-5606 for information about the application process, which should be similar to those for public high school.

The CVAA Scholarship Committee will arrange interviews with all applicants between April 16-26. Each applicant must bring a portfolio of their best artwork to this interview and must be prepared to present how that artwork leads to their career goals. The awarded students' portfolios are expected to be available at Carson Valley Days in June and the scholarship show in November.

Applicants will be notified about the status of their application after all the interviews have been completed and reviewed, most likely by April 30.

If you have questions regarding the scholarship application process, contact CVAA Scholarship Committee chairman Beth Bosman at 782-5606.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment