Drawing cards settles Skyland election

Tahoe Township Justice of the Peace Richard Glasson and Clerk-Treasurer Kathy Lewis prepare for a card draw on Wednesday morning.

Tahoe Township Justice of the Peace Richard Glasson and Clerk-Treasurer Kathy Lewis prepare for a card draw on Wednesday morning.

All it took was a deck of cards on Wednesday morning to settle a 104-vote tie for the fifth seat on the Skyland General Improvement District board.

Candidates Richard Nice and Dennis Berry appeared in Tahoe Township Justice Court on Wednesday morning after they each received 104 votes each in the general election.

In Douglas County, ties are resolved by drawing cards.

Berry drew a six of hearts while Nice drew a seven of diamonds, to win the race. Election Administrator Dena Dawson said Nice was sworn in by Tahoe Township Justice of the Peace Richard Glasson immediately after drawing the winning card.

All five seats on the Lake Tahoe improvement district were up for election this year.

Eight Skyland residents sought the three four-year terms and two two-year terms on the board.

Larry Sidney won the race with 134 votes, according to official results, perhaps making up a little for his Douglas County school board loss.

The wife of the winner in that school board race, Dana Englekirk, received 120 votes, while Kevin Lavo won 113 votes. Jonathan Herwig missed making it a three-way tie by three votes with 107.

It has been a decade since Natalie Yanish drew an ace to win her seat on the Kingsbury Grade General Improvement District Board. Opponent Bob McDowell drew the eight after the two tied for a seat on the board at 373 votes each.

In the Valley, the Genoa Town Board recommended a fifth board member be appointed by commissioners next week after not enough candidates filed for the open seats.

R. “Alex” Alexander was recommended for the seat held by Pat Eckman. Eckman didn’t seek re-election to the board, but applied because she didn’t know if someone else would take it.

Town Board member Linda Birdwell agreed to accept the two-year seat while board members Steve Shively and Gordon Paisley will serve for four years.

On Tuesday evening the Nevada Supreme Court dismissed a lawsuit seeking to award the state’s electors to Donald Trump.

"We are extremely disappointed in the NV Supreme Court's decision to dismiss our appeal,” according to a statement issued by the party.

The President won Douglas and 14 other Nevada counties, but lost in Clark and Washoe counties, according to Nevada Secretary of State Barbara Cegavske, a Republican.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment