Election filing wraps up today

The Douglas County Clerk's Office will open for the last day of candidate filing at 9 a.m. today. Anyone wishing to file for office has eight hours to do it, because the law says filing stops at 5 p.m.

So far there are only two primary races in the county, one for clerk-treasurer and the other for Assemly District 39.

Ted Thran, who was appointed to replace longtime Clerk-Treasuer Barbara Griffin, faces a Republican challenger in Stephanie Brooks, who applied for the job. Forcing the primary is Independent American Robert Conner.

The other primary has two new candidates, Republicans Kelly Kite and Jim Wheeler. Both men will meet on the June ballot after Independent American David Schumann and Democrat JoEtta Brown filed for the seat being vacated by James Settelmeyer.

Settelmeyer is seeking the Capital Senatorial District. So far only Independent American Cody J. Quirk has challenged him for the seat.

Not many races have developed for the general election, so far.

District 4 County Commissioner Nancy McDermid faces an opponent in Planning Commission Chairman Lawrence Howell. Public Administrator Lynn EnEarl is facing Independent American Sam Dupuis.

Recorder Karen Ellison is facing fellow Republican Erin Chandler, who formerly worked for the office.

The big primary race in the 2010 election will be those who are challenging U.S. Sen. Harry Reid, where 17 people have filed with the Nevada Secretary of State's Office, including eight Republicans, four Democrats, three independents, an Independent American and a member of the Tea Party.

Eleven candidates have filed for governor, including Gov. Jim Gibbons.

Douglas County School Board trustees Sharla Hales and Thomas Moore have filed for their seats. Hales faces Gardnerville resident Scott Forvilly. Minden Town Board member Ross Chichester and retired teacher Jeanette Turnbeaugh filed for the School Board Area 7 seat that's being vacated by Keith Roman.

Six people have filed for three seats on the Indian Hills Improvement District, including at least three former board members.

The Douglas County Clerk's Office is located at 1616 Eighth St. in Minden.

It will be open 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. today.

Assessor - Douglas W. Sonnemann

Clerk-Treasurer - Ted Thran, Stephanie Brooks, Robert Conner

East Fork Constable - Paul E. Gilbert

County Commission District 2 - David Brady

County Commission District 4 - Nancy McDermid, Lawrence Howell

District Attorney - Mark Jackson

Public Administrator - Lynn EnEarl, Sam Dupuis

Recorder - Karen Ellison, Erin Chandler

School Board Trustee Area 2 - Sharla Hales, Scott Forvilly

School Board Trustee Area 6 - Thomas Moore

School Board Trustee Area 7 - Ross Chichester, Jeanette Turnbeaugh

Sheriff - Ron Pierini

Town of Gardnerville - Michael Philips, Linda Slater, Ken Miller, Jerry Lee Smith

Town of Genoa - Brian K. Williams, David Whitgob

Town of Minden - Robert Pohlman, William Souligny, Robert D. Hellwinkel, Charles Condron, Roxanne Stangle, and Jon S. Erb, Matt Bernard

Cave Rock Estates - Michael Rooney, Colin Dawson, Don E. Blackard, Grant Thompson

Douglas Mosquito Abatement District - Steve Walker, Rex Cleary, Irvine Phillips, Kelly Nalder

East Fork Swimming Pool District - Gordon Gray, John Qu. Swain, Patrick O'Hara, Joseph Stubnar, Shannon Harris

Garderville Ranchos General Improvement District - Brad Newlon, Jeremy Davidson, Bruce H. Reavis,

Jeff James

Indian Hills General Improvement District -

Ronny Lynch, Marco Manor, Art Baer, Ron Kruse, Brian Patrick, Bill Eisele, Denise Pierini

Kingsbury General Improvement District - Darya Vogt, Natalie Yanish, Lucie King, Robert McDowell, Timothy Stoll, Dan Norman

Lakeridge General Improvement District - John McCall, John Knepp

Loga Creek General Improvement District - David S. Moore

Marla Bay General Improvement District - Roy R. Pike, John 'Jack' McQuirk, Carol McQuirk, Donna


Minden-Gardnerville Sanitation District - Bob

Allgeier, Michael Henningsen, Raymond Wilson, Mark


Round Hill General Improvement District - Steve Seibel, Steve Teshara, Chuck Fagen

Tahoe-Douglas Fire Protection District - Gary Midkiff, Kevin Kjer, Michael Bradford

Tahoe-Douglas Sewer District - Carl A. Paulson, Grant Thompson, Andy Chapman

Topaz Ranch Estates General Improvement District - Denice Morphew, Nancy C. Bauer

Zephyr Cove General Improvement District - Patrick Riley, Richard Johnson, Gary Richert

Zepher Heights General Improvement District - Allan Sutter, Tracey Cummings, Russ Irwin, Tommy N. Varzos, Diane "Dee Dee" Imbach, Bruce Doxey

Filed with Secretary of State

Capital Senatorial District - James Settelmeyer, Cody J. Quirk

Assembly District 39 - JoEtta Brown, Kelly Kite, David Schumann, Jim Wheeler

*As of 5 p.m. Thursday


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment