Area student-athletes honored at MEFIYI

The fifth annual Community Choice Youth Awards Banquet presented by Greater Nevada Credit Union celebrated the excellence of 40 Douglas County youth at Genoa Lakes Golf Club on May 8.

Student-athletes were honored for their academic excellence, athletic commitment and community service.

The awards banquet was re-named the Community Choice Molly Awards to honor Douglas High School student-athlete Molly Lahlum, who died in April.

Molly had been part of the event staff since 2006.

The highlights of this year's banquet included the national anthem sung by Miss Carson Valley and Molly Award Winner Mackenzie Cauley, a dance performance by the Students Taking on Prevention (STOP), and keynote speaker, Andy McIntosh.

McIntosh is a former Douglas High School student-athlete, who played four years with the University of Nevada football team.

During his four years, the Wolf Pack played four consecutive bowl games for the first time in school history. He graduated May 16 with a dual degree in finance and economics.

A tribute of each award winner was presented and developed by MEFIYI trustee Mike McLaughlin and Tom Christopher of RAMAC Industries.

Douglas High School student-athletes Mia Townsell and Maddy Gilbert co-hosted the event. MEFIYI co-founders JoJo and Suzi Townsell are proud to organize an event where our student-athletes' talents, abilities, ambitions and how they serve our community are recognized.

This year's event awarded two $1,000 scholarships and two $500 college scholarships for outstanding senior student athletes.

These scholarships were made possible by Greater Nevada Credit Union and Big George Ventures, LLC.

The $1,000 college scholarships were awarded to Taryn Williams and Ally Freitas of Douglas High School.

Williams will attend California Lutheran University and Freitas will enroll at San Francisco State University. The two $500 college scholarships were awarded to Mackenzie Cauley and Tim Rudnick of Douglas High School. Cauley has been admitted to University of Oregon and Rudnick will attend University of Nevada.

MEFIYI is honored that Greater Nevada Credit Union agreed to become title sponsor of this year's event for the third year. The Community Choice Molly Awards Banquet and 2009 MEFIYI programs are supported by grants from Big George Ventures, LLC., NFL Charities, The E.L. Cord Foundation, Robert R. Banks Foundation and Robert Z. Hawkins Foundation. MEFIYI also wants to thank The Record-Courier, Carson Valley Accounting, Buffalo Creek Ranch, Genoa Lakes Golf Club, RAMAC Industries and Brewery Arts Center for their support. We also appreciate Douglas High School student-athlete Mysta Townsell who has volunteered her time and effort since this event's inception. Finally, our thoughts are with former Douglas County School District Members, George and Josie Graham, who inspired us to create this event.

Award winners included:

Tim Rudnick, Douglas High School

Cassandra Lopez, Douglas High School

Jessica Gorton, Douglas High School

Tonya Fred, Carson Valley Middle School

Ally Freitas, Douglas High School

Kyler Felton, Whittell High School

Sage Lyons, Douglas High School

Kaitlin Babbitt, Douglas High School

Robert Shawhan, Douglas High School

Illiana Brown, Pau-Wa-Lu Middle School

Stephanie Harper, Douglas High School

Christine DuPuis, Douglas High School

Natasha Brown, Douglas High School

Alex Dolan, Meneley Elementary School

Aleesah Herup, Douglas High School

Guy Rogers, Gardnerville Elementary School

Taryn Williams, Douglas High School

Katie Dry, Carson Valley Middle School

Tara Paiement, Douglas High School

Shannon Hubbard, Pau-Wa-Lu Middle School

Clara Ritger, Douglas High School

Lara Brown, Meneley Elementary School

Kelsey Conklin, Douglas High School

Amelia Ritger, Douglas High School

Mackenzie Cauley, Douglas High School

Jamie Lundergreen, Douglas High School

Rex McKeon, Douglas High School

Amanda Wartgow, Carson Valley Middle School

Michael Magno, Douglas High School

Nicole Terada, Meneley Elementary School

Jonathan Gilkerson, Douglas High School

Jourdan Burke, Douglas High School

Haley Von Schottenstein, Douglas High School

Lindsay Adams, Meneley Elementary School

Gabriela Munos, Pau-Wa-Lu Middle School

Maria Munoz, Pau-Wa-Lu Middle School

Megan Tallman, Pau-Wa-Lu Middle School

Jacob Wartgow, Carson Valley Middle School

Bradley Loshbough, Gardnerville Elementary School

Edgar Arceo, Douglas High School


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment