Community members honored by Minden Rotary

Minden Rotary gave honorary designations to three community members who devote time helping children in Douglas County.

Honorary Paul Harris Fellowships are awarded to members who have contributed at least $1,000 to the Rotary foundation. A club may give honorary designations to outstanding citizens in their community.

Marlena Hellwinkel was honored for assisting at Douglas High School and being a 4-H leader.

JoJo Townsell was recognized for the work he does for community youth through MeFiYi organization and the Boys & Girls Club of Carson Valley.

Linda Cuddy was named an Honorary Paul Harris Fellow for her work as the leader of the CASA volunteers and president of the Austin's House Foundation.

Paul Harris was the founder of Rotary on Feb. 23, 1905, with three other Chicago business men. The Rotary Foundation was formed in 1917 with a small donation and, according to President Arch Klumph, "It seems eminently proper that we should accept endowments for the purpose of doing good in the world."


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment