Soroptimists award students

Soroptimist International of Carson Valley continued its long-standing tradition of service to the community and honored young people at a Feb. 20 luncheon at Two Guys from Italy. Three different awards were given.

The Violet Richardson Award recognizes girls for their volunteer service to the community. The program honors young women between the ages of 14 and 17 for volunteer work in the community. Soroptimist International of Carson Valley was proud to recognize Peggie Hannah, Douglas High School, for her work with Stand Tall Don't Fall. She received a $750 award and becomes eligible for additional recognition at the region and federation levels of Soroptimist.

The Youth Citizenship Award, which is given to graduating seniors, is awarded to individuals who have demonstrated leadership and a sense of community responsibility while achieving academic excellence. Soroptimist takes great pleasure in recognizing the future leaders of our community and world. This year two students received this award. Michael Barnes and Brigita Oxoby, both from Douglas High School, were given awards of $750.

Student Achievers of the Month for the first four months of the 2006/2007 school year were recognized. Student Achievers are nominated by high school teachers, counselors or administrators, then chosen by the Soroptimist education committee. The following young people were recognized for their hard work, dedication and commitment to overcoming challenges: Elizabeth Garcia, Marissa Poe and Zachary Stephens of Douglas High School and Kody Scott of Sierra Crest Academy.

The Soroptimist International of Carson Valley is comprised of businesswomen professionals in management and leadership roles in this community. The club has worked in this community furthering the growth, development and success of women and children for the past 28 years. The club produces annual fundraisers such as Savor the Flavor wine tasting and the popular Carson Valley Days buttons to raise funds to grant scholarships such as this. For information on membership or any other questions, call club president Rosann Turiglitatto at 265-5487.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment