Animal group leader honored

Outgoing Douglas Animal Welfare Group president Cherie Owen was presented with a congressional certificate of special recognition Dec. 7. The certificate, signed by Rep. Dean Heller, was presented by 2008 DAWG President Laura Winking.

Owen was honored for her hard work and dedication as a volunteer and for service to the community and love for animals. Earlier in the year she was honored for her work with animals by Gov. Jim Gibbons.

Owen founded the nonprofit dog rescue organization in 2000 to ensure animals would not be euthanized. DAWG works closely with the Douglas County Animal Shelter.

New DAWG officers for 2008 are Vice President Trish Vandersluis, Secretary Maggie Bado, Treasurer Karen Joseph and member-at-large Denise Watschke. DAWG members have volunteered for 6,840 hours of work, including 4,344 at the shelter, through October 2007.

For information about DAWG, go to or call 782-9061.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment