Sample ballots coming out this week, early voting Saturday


Sample ballots are being mailed out this week and early voting begins on Saturday.

Tonight primary candidates are invited to a candidate's night at the Genoa Town Hall at 6 p.m.

In an effort to help educate voters, The Record-Courier is publishing the following list to aid residents in researching candidates and their positions.

The list includes where the candidate is from, something about them and a Web site where more information can be found, if available.

The Record-Courier's primary guide will publish Aug. 2.

Unopposed non-partisan races, such as sheriff, constable, school board and the Gardnerville and Minden Town Boards will also appear on the primary ballot.

Unopposed improvement district and county partisan offices will appear on the general election ballot in November.

There are many different ballots thanks to the large number of districts and towns in the county. Sample ballots are available online at

Candidates appearing on Carson Valley absentee and the Aug. 15 ballot are:

U.S. Senate - Republicans

n John Ensign, Las Vegas, incumbent

n Edward "Fast Eddie" Hamilton, Las Vegas, a retired automotive executive.

U.S. Senate - Democrats

n Jack Carter, Las Vegas, son of President Jimmy Carter,

n Ruby Jee Tun, Carson City, Carson City school teacher

U.S. Congress - Republicans

n Sharron E. Angle, Reno, Nevada legislator,

n Dawn Gibbons, Reno, former state legislator,

n Richard Gilster II, Las Vegas pastor

n Dean Heller, Carson City, secretary of state.

n Glenn Thomas, a Johnson Lane resident, retired aerospace engineer,

Governor - Republicans

n Bob Beers, Las Vegas, state legislator,

n Melody "Mimi Miyagi" Damayo, Henderson, adult film star,

n Jim Gibbons, Reno, representative in congress,

n Lorraine T. Hunt, Las Vegas, lieutenant governor,

n Stanleigh Harold Lusak, Fallon,

Governor - Democrats

n James B. Gibson, Henderson, mayor of Henderson,

n Leola McConnell, Las Vegas, female bodybuilder,

n Dina Titus, Las Vegas, state senate minority leader,

Lt. Governor - Republicans

n Lonnie Hammargren, Las Vegas, former lieutenant governor,

n Eldon B. Hardy, Las Vegas, state homeowners association obudsman,

n George Kao, Reno, business consultant,

n Brian Krolicki, Stateline, state treasurer,

n Janet Moncrief, Las Vegas, former Vegas councilwoman

n Barbara Lee Woollen, Las Vegas, businesswoman,

Lt. Governor - Democrats

n Robert E. "Bob" Goodman, Las Vegas, former department of tourism director,

n Bill Montgomery, Reno, union director,

n Bob Stupak, Las Vegas, former casino owner,

n Robert "Bob" Unger, Henderson, real estate developer,

Secretary of State


n Brian Scroggins, Las Vegas, outdoor sign contractor,

n Danny Tarkanian, Las Vegas, attorney,

Secretary of State


n Roderick Boyd, Las Vegas, convention coordinator, 702-759-2479

n Ross Miller, Las Vegas, attorney,

State Treasurer - Republicans

n Kathy Augustine, Las Vegas, deceased

n Mark DeStefano, Las Vegas, financial consultant,

n Joseph Pitts, Henderson, retired firefighter, 702-361-4459

State Treasurer - Democrats

n Kate Marshall, Reno, telecommunications attorney,

n Geoffrey VanderPal, Las Vegas, financial advisory firm owner,

Assembly District

No. 39 - Republicans

n John E. Dicks, Gardnerville retired, 783-9631

n Rick Gardner, Zephyr Cove, attorney,

n James Arnold Settelmeyer, Gardnerville, Rancher,

n Barbara Smallwood, Gardnerville, former county commissioner,

University Regent

n David H. Fulstone II, Yerington, former Lyon County commissioner

n Ron Knecht, Carson City, former Carson assemblyman, 775-684-6134

n Ted S. Lancaster, Reno, 849-3655

n Liz Moore, Carson City, state worker,

Supreme Court Justice Seat F

n John Calvert, Reno, attorney, (775) 786-2055

n Michael L. Douglas, Las Vegas, incumbent, (702) 521-4949

n Cynthia "Dianne" Steel, Las Vegas, family court judge, (702) 393-4337

Supreme Court Seat G

n Nancy Becker, Las Vegas, incumbent,

n Thomas F. Christensen, Las Vegas, supreme court settlement juge

n Nicholas Anthony Del Vecchio, Las Vegas, family court judge

n Nancy M. Saitta, Las Vegas, district judge,

Douglas County

Public Administrator


n Lynn EnEarl, Johnson Lane, incumbent, 721-1679

n Jay L. Lather, Minden, judge pro tem, 782-4136

County Commission


n Janet Murphy, Zephyr Cove, utility administrator, 588-6268

n Nancy McDermid, Gardnerville, Douglas planning commissioner, 265-0357


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment