Niehoff and Dyer win again

Abby Niehoff and Kevin Dyer each came away with another win to lead the continued solid effort of the Carson Tigersharks at the Adam Szmidt Memorial Pacific Swim Long Course Junior Olympics on Saturday in San Jose.

Niehoff won the 13-14 girls 200-meter butterfly. She qualified first in the preliminaries in two minutes, 27.59 seconds, then lowered her time in the finals to win in 2:26.34.

Dyer won the 15-16 boys 800 freestyle in a personal best 9:08.76. Niehoff has now won four events in the meet while Dyer has won two.

Also in 13-14 girls, Tatum Boehnke swam to ninth in the 200 fly in a personal best of 2:41.13, a Far Western qualifying time.

In the 200 backstroke, Hannah Burton swam to a personal best of 2:51.29 in 11-12 girls to take 222nd, Carolin Suh took 29th in 13-14 girls in 2:47.26, Samantha Ashmore swam to a personal best 2:45.45 to take 26th in 15-16 girls and Barbara Perkins took 31st in 15-16 girls in 2:49.64.

Tigershark coach Jim Puleo said the 200 back is an "off" event for Perkins, who will swim in one of her top events, the 400 free on the final day of the meet today. "She just swam that to have something to swim," Puleo said.

In the 50 free, Julia Asire finished in 31.87 in 13-14 girls, Niehoff was 19th in 29.81 and Cody Gillenwater took 24th in 11-12 boys in 31.59.

"The kids are doing a good job," Puleo said. "We are pretty much dominating the middle distance events. We're pretty happy about that."


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment