Elks Hoop Shoot set for Nov. 14 | RecordCourier.com

Elks Hoop Shoot set for Nov. 14

Staff Reports

The Tahoe/Douglas Elks Lodge will host its annual Hoop Shoot basketball contest at 10 a.m. on Nov. 14 at the Douglas County Community & Senior Center.

The contest is open to boys and girls who are 8-to-13 years of age as of April 1, 2016. There is no cost to compete. Winners in each age category qualify for the District Shoot in Reno on Jan. 16, 2016.

Contact Gary Wendt at 265-6136 for information.

Sparman wins men’s club flight

Jack Sparman won Flight A last Sunday in the Carson Valley Men’s Golf Club “Par 3” tournament at the Carson Valley Golf Course.

The tournament featured a format in which par-4 and par-5 holes were shortened to par-3 length. Carson Valley Ladies Golf Club members were invited to play as guests.

Sparman shot a net 50, followed by Fred Coons at 52 and Charles Poe 53.

Diane Van Nort won Flight B on a tie-breaker over Matt Budjako as both shot 52. Augie Martinez took third-place with his 55.

Mel Ness took first-place in Flight C with a 52, followed by Bob van Nort at 55 and Jack Zippwald at 57.

Closest-to-the-pin winners were Diane Van Nort on the second hole and Charlie Serafine on No. 14.

Shotokan event on Saturday

The Carson Valley and Tahoe Shotokan Karate dojos will host a combined practice and demonstration Saturday at Pulse Fitness Gym in Minden.

The event is open to the public starting at 1 p.m. at Pulse Fitness, Mahogany Drive.

Shotokan classes are regularly held at Pulse 7:15-8:45 p.m. on Mondays and 6:45-8:15 p.m. on Wednesdays.

Flamer foursome wins

Bill Flamer, Bill Gibson, Dick Blankenship and Steve Scharfe combined to shoot a net 48 to win the A flight on Oct. 7 at the Empire Ranch Senor Men’s Club team scramble event at Thunder Canyon.

Tony Barbaria, Terry Thomas, R.C. Crapo and Bob Warzynski were second with a 50.

Charles Bell, Bob Blom and Bob Peason won the B flight with a 47, one stroke better than Paul Lockwood, Tom Harlow and Ray Huntley.

Closest-to-the-pin winners included Don Swanson on the second hole, Duane Carroll on No. 6, Al Giannotti on No. 8, Dale Guy on No. 12 and Gary Dalen on No. 17.