Coleville trio named first-team all-league |

Coleville trio named first-team all-league

Staff Reports

Division IV all-West Football

Coach of the Year: Phil Bryant, Whittell

MVP: Christian Lindsay, sr., Virginia City

Offensive Player of the Year: Tyshawn Bonner, sr., Mineral County

Defensive Player of the Year: Colin Buchholtz, jr., Whittell



QB: Ricky Gieser, jr., Coleville

RB: Jake Sharp, sr., Whittell

RB: Eli Spurlock, sr., Excel Christian

TE: Carlos Robledo, sr., Virginia City

WR: Brady Cardenas, sr., Mineral County

WR: Alex Ohanian, sr., Excel Christian

OL: Colt Potter, sr., Virginia City

OL: Quinn Kixmiller, jr., Whittell

OL: Luke Hawkins, sr., Excel Christian


DL: Kai Mangiaralina, so., Whittell

DL: Colt Potter, Virginia City

DL: Josh Disbro, sr., Coleville

LB: Carlos Robledo, Virginia City

LB: Gavin Bailey, sr., Virginia City

LB: Britt Knight, sr., Excel Christian

LB: A.J. Wasson, jr., Pyramid Lake

DB: Bryce Bronken, sr., Whittell

DB: Alex Ohanian, Excel Christian


Kicker: Price Poston, jr., Virginia City

Punter: Joel Gomez, sr., Coleville

Kick Returner: Corey Huber, fr., Whittell



QB: A.J. Wasson, Pyramid Lake

RB: Chase Wetherington, sr., Virginia City

RB: Tristan Reynolds, sr., Mineral County

TE: Bryce Bronken, Whittell

WR: Dismas Womack, so., Whittell

WR: Ireland Franklin, so., Virginia City

OL: Conner Coyne, so., Virginia City

OL: Sean Noyes, sr., Whittell

OL: Spencer Benjaman, jr., Mineral County

Honorable Mention: Gage Sullivan (Coleville)-WR, Dalton Wright (Smith Valley)-RB, Evan Breckenridge (Virginia City)-OL, Noah Denson (Excel Christian)-QB, Corey Huber (Whittell)-RB, John Vandiver (Smith Valley)-OL, Tanner DeBusk (Smith Valley)-QB, Paul Rodriguez III (Mineral County)-OL, Allen Tatsey (Pyramid Lake)-WR, Shandon Stump (Pyramid Lake)-OL, Monte Stanton (Smith Valley)-WR, Price Poston (Virginia City)-RB.


DL: Christopher Johnson, sr., Excel Christian

DL: Sam Strahan, so., Virginia City

DL: Tanner DeBusk, so., Smith Valley

LB: Eric Hubbard, jr., Coleville

LB: Sean Noyes, Whittell

LB: Eli Spurlock, Excel Christian

LB: Tristan Reynolds, Mineral County

DB: Dismas Womack, Whittell

DB: Ireland Franklin, Virginia City

Coleville High School’s Ricky Gieser, Josh Disbro and Joel Gomez were first-team selections on the recently announced Division IV all-Western Division team.

Gieser was honored as first-team quarterback, Disbro as a defensive lineman and Gomez as a punter for Coleville (4-5 overall, 3-3 league).

Even though he only played six games, Gieser gained 1,867 yards in total offense — 958 passing and 909 rushing — plus he ran for 15 touchdowns and threw for 15 more. The junior averaged 151.5 yards per game and 7.3 yards per carry. The Wolves won four of the six games he played in.

Disbro, a senior nose guard, recovered from an ACL injury that sidelined him for the entire 2013 season and anchored Coleville’s run defense this season.

Gomez, a 5-10, 181-pound senior, battled through an ankle injury to average 43.4 yards on 18 punts this season, with a long of 70 yards and four attempts which were downed inside the 20.

“This was kind of a disappointing season; that was a pretty bad ankle injury and he wasn’t able to play at the level he wanted,” Coleville coach Will Sandy said of Gomez, who also played quarterback and running back on offense.

This marked the third straight year Gomez received all-league recognition as a punter. He also received honorable mention recognition as a linebacker (67 tackles and four fumble recoveries).

Junior linebacker Eric Hubbard was also selected as a second-team linebacker. Hubbard, a 5-foot-7, 150-pound junior, led the team with 84 tackles (46 solo, 38 assists).

Ashton Mitchell received honorable mention recognition as a linebacker. Mitchell led the team with 5.5 sacks.

“Ashton was kind of an unsung hero for us,” Sandy said of the senior. “He was one of those guys who does a lot of little things that don’t show up in the stats.”

Junior Gage Sullivan also received honorable mention recognition as a wide receiver. Sullivan led the Wolves in receiving with 27 catches for 648 yards and eight touchdowns.

At the Wolves’ recent awards banquet, Gieser was also honored as the team’s MVP, Gomez as the Outstanding Offensive Player, Hubbard as the Outstanding Defensive Player, Mitchell as Lineman of the Year, Sullivan as Most Improved Player and Disbro as the Jackie Giorgi Sportsmanship Award recipient.