Molly Awards honor Douglas County youth |

Molly Awards honor Douglas County youth

Special to The R-C

Jim Grant / The Record-Courier

The ninth annual Molly Youth Awards celebrated the excellence of 40 Douglas County student-athletes who were honored for their academic excellence, athletic participation and community service on May 13.

The Molly Youth Awards features a combination tribute, achievement and a comedy roast of each honoree. The awards were held at Carson Valley Inn and are organized by MEFIYI’s. (Me-for-Incredible-Youth, Inc.) JoJo and Suzi Townsell.

Three Douglas High School seniors received the George and Josie Graham $1,000 scholarships at the event. Aspen Abbott who will be attending Southern Oregon University, Emily Hales will enroll at Brigham Young University and Bailey Sheets who will be attending the University of Nevada.

Carson Valley Middle School student-athlete Dallyn Malarchuk and Pau-Wa-Lau student-athlete Cappy Gilbert served as the event’s emcees.

The awards banquet celebrates the life of Douglas High School student-athlete Molly Lahlum.

The generous support of Greater Nevada Credit Union, The Record-Courier, Heavenly-Vail Resorts, Inc., RAMAC Industries and Carson Valley Inn made the Molly Awards a community success.

MEFIYI would like to thank Big George Ventures, LLC, NFL Charities, The E.L. Cord Foundation, Robert R. Banks Foundation, and Robert Z. Hawkins Foundation for their continued support of our Northern Nevada student-athletes.

This year’s honorees were: Sean Dunkelman; Kayleigh Carlson; Dane Olsen; Megan Skilling; Nicole Terada; Leah Schemenauer; Jordan Chappell; Aaliyah Paxson; Emily Harris; Hunter Myers; Ethan Daniels; Megan Sheets; Sam Brown; Brittany Boulet; Bayla Fitzpatrick; Jacob Wartgow; Kaycee Battcher; Aspen Abbott; Jordan Smith; Hailee Porras; Jake Houghton; Johnnie Saletti; Sierra Franklin; Kelsey Carlson; Bailey Gumm; Cody Carter; Amanda Harris; Holly Brown; Madison Harvey; Marissa Cowan; Calvin Doerr; Montrashay Worley; Emily Hales; Bailey Sheets; Grant Dunkelman; Samantha Brown; Aubrey Caires; Franda Martinez; Luke Houghton; Olivia Abbott.