New district maps not bad for Douglas |

New district maps not bad for Douglas

R-C Editorial Board

It appears that maps showing Nevada’s new congressional, state senate and assembly districts may be on their way to reality.

Parties to the lawsuit have 30 days from last week to file an appeal of the maps to the Nevada Supreme Court, but so far they’ve sounded like they’re OK with what the special masters appointed by District Judge Todd Russell produced.

We’ve yet to hear a legal challenge from rural portions of the state, who face the loss of some representation on the new maps.

Looking at the maps, Douglas County is no longer split between two senate seats. Senate district 17 will be represented by Minden Republican James Settelmeyer and includes all of Douglas, Lyon, Storey and Churchill counties. That’s a pretty good split and leaves Douglas as the county with the highest population in the district.

The assembly maps show Douglas in district 39 then including western Lyon County and all of Storey County. The district written in 1990 ran all the way up to Incline Village, in what could only be described as the neck of the Gerrymander.

While we doubt Douglas has much argument with the way the new boundaries are written, we can understand the consternation of Sen. Dean Rhoads, R-Tuscarora, whose District 19 runs from the northern boundary of Elko County to Primm in Clark County in the south.

That’s going to be one heck of a circuit ride for Sen. Rhoads and his successors. Senate District 14 goes from the northern border of Humboldt county to the southern tip of Esmeralda. Assembly District 32 has essentially the same boundaries. Neither district has a sitting lawmaker, so whoever wins it will have to have reliable transportation.

The maps reflect the increase in Nevada’s urban population.

Unfortunately, that means those folks who are living in the wilder portions of the state may also find themselves in the legislative wilderness.