Historical society nominates Lois Storke | RecordCourier.com

Historical society nominates Lois Storke

Staff reports

In recognition of Women’s History Month, Attorney General Frankie Sue Del Papa announced the names of five honorees in northern Nevada selected to receive the fourth annual Nevada Women’s Role Model Award.

The award recognizes women “for their significant contribution to our communities, our state and our history,” Del Papa said.

Nominated by the Carson Valley historical society for the honor was member Lois Storke.

Storke has been a resident of the Carson Valley since 1944 and is a lifetime member of the society.

She has served as a docent since 1982 and as secretary of the society since 1983. Among other activities, she has served on the Historical Society’s accession committee and the fund-raising and social events committees.

Serving as the society’s memorial chairman, Storke spends many hours recording all memorials, sending thank-you notes and notification that a donation has been given in the name of the deceased.

All of Storke’s work for the society is done on a voluntary basis.

Storke is a charter member of the Carson Valley Literary Club and Town and Country Homemakers and has served as a member of the East Fork Swimming Pool District Board of Trustees.

She has held positions in the Nevada Association of Legal Secretaries and the Republican Central Committee at county and state levels.

Jean Ford, one of five northern honorees who received the award, was nominated by Sonia Dehart of Genoa.

“Jean has been an inspiration to all of us who love Nevada,” wrote Dehart of Ford, who was the founder of the Nevada Women’s History Project.

Ford’s other accomplishments include two terms in the state assembly and one in the state senate. She was a member of the State Tourism Commission. Ford was the director of the Women’s Studies Department at the University of Nevada, Reno from 1991 to 1995 and has taught there for seven years.

Adriene Angelini, Ellie Lopez-Bowlan, Patricia Casarez all of Reno and Jean McNicoll are among the other northern Nevada recipients.

The choice of the recipients was a tough one, according to Del Papa. “The selection was extremely difficult, since those who were nominated are among the most active and motivated citizens of our state.”

The Record-Courier E-mail: rc@tahoe.com

Visitors Guide | News | Diversions | Marketplace | Weather | Community

Copyright, tahoe.com. Materials contained within this site may

not be used without permission.

About tahoe.com…