Who’s Next wins volleyball title | RecordCourier.com

Who’s Next wins volleyball title

Staff Reports

Who's Next defeated Nevada Photo Source in straight sets, 25-20 and 25-18, to win the Douglas County Parks & Recreation Department women's volleyball league championship on Dec. 5.

Who's Next, the regular season champion, won its semifinal on Nov. 28 against Sonova Beach, 25-17, 25-21.

The championship team included two local athletes who competed collegiately in different sports — Brenna White (Douglas High) at Mercy College (New York) in volleyball and Alex McAlman (Carson High) for the University of Nevada in track and field.

White, a 2011 Douglas graduate, wound up as Mercy's all-time leader in kills and ended her four-year career with 2,118 kills, 1,180 digs in 125 total matches. She registered 652 kills as a freshman in 2011 and became the first NCAA Division II player to surpass 600. She earned second-team all-conference honors in both 2013 and 2014, plus she was named to the East Coast Conference Commissioner's Honor Roll for the 2014-15 academic year after finishing with a 3.25-plus GPA.

McAlman placed 19th in the women's hammer throw at the NCAA Championships in 2011 (her best in the event was 190-feet, 7). As a senior at Carson High in 2006, she was a state champion in the discus. McAlman also played volleyball for the Carson Senators.

Nevada Photo Source reached the championship round thanks to a three-set win against Notorious DIG in the semifinals, 25-16, 14-25, 25-16.

Recommended Stories For You

Who's Next finished first in the regular season with an 11-1 record, ahead of Nevada Photo Source at 10-2.

In the coed league, This Won't Take Long was a 2-1 victor over I'd Hit That in the tournament finals on Nov. 3. Fittingly for a competitive league — all four teams finished within three matches of each other during the regular season — This Won't Take Long rallied to win in three sets, 25-27, 25-16, 25-13.

This Won't Take Long was the regular season champion with its 8-4 record, followed by Next! at 6-6. I'd Hit That and Who's Next were 5-7.

I'd Hit That beat Next! in one semifinal, 25-17, 25-22. This Won't Take Long beat Who's Next in the other semifinal, 25-14, 25-15.