Wheeler announces run for re-election | RecordCourier.com

Wheeler announces run for re-election

by Aurora Sain
Jim Wheeler
Picasa |

District 39 Assemblyman Jim Wheeler is hoping the Republicans hang onto the Nevada Legislature this session.

Wheeler, 62, announced in Reno on Wednesday that he is running for a third term

“I enjoy working for the people,” said Wheeler.

Wheeler said he will be filing with the Nevada Secretary of State’s Office when it opens on Monday.

Wheeler said he was pleased that the Republican Party was the majority for the first time in 35 years in the Legislature and with many seats going up for re-election, he hopes to keep the Republicans on top.

“There is a lot of things we need to continue and for the first time in a long time we are the majority,” said Wheeler.

He has worked as chairman of the transportation committee, vice-chair of the natural resources, agriculture and mining committee and as assembly majority whip.

With support from Rep. Mark Amodei, R-Nev., and real estate mogul Lance Gilman, Wheeler hopes to continue working on the things he is passionate about, including lowering taxes.

He helped construct a growth plan and budget that would reject new or increased taxes on businesses and individuals so that the state can offer an inviting climate for new talent and businesses like Tesla.

“Basically conservative values that the people in my district, especially the people of Douglas County, believe in,” said Wheeler.

Nevada assemblymen can serve two-year terms, with a limit of six terms.

To contact Wheeler, email Jim.Wheeler@asm.state.nv.us or call 546-3471.

Filing for office begins Monday at the Douglas County Clerk-Treasurer’s Offices in Minden and Stateline during business hours Monday through March 18.

State offices like Assembly must file with the Nevada Secretary of State.

There are roughly two-dozen elected boards with 2-3 open seats each across Douglas County. Potential candidates must live in the district.

Countywide seats up for election this year include that of the clerk-treasurer, three county commission seats and four school board seats.

The primary election is June 14. The general election is Nov. 8.