Tiger named educator of the year | RecordCourier.com

Tiger named educator of the year

Colin Kvasnicka
Douglas County School District

Minden third-grade teacher Colin Kvasnicka starred as Macbeth in the Scottish play while a Douglas High drama student in 2003.

Seventeen years later, the one-time actor who grew up in Carson Valley, was recognized as Douglas County School District’s 2019-20 Distinguished Educator.

Kvasnicka is a 2004 Douglas High School graduate, who has been teaching since he graduated in 2009 with a bachelor’s degree in elementary education from the University of Nevada, Reno.

“I must thank my wife, for always supporting me even when I was filled with self-doubt in my early teaching career,” Kvasnicka said on Thursday. “I worked in private school education for years and believed I did not have the skillset to teach in my childhood home of the Carson Valley.  She knew I was more capable than I gave myself credit for, and secretly put my resume into the Douglas County School District.  From that moment of my first interview to the present, I have met many talented teachers, grew so much as an educator, and gained lasting friendships that I will cherish for the rest of my life.  I owe it all to my wonderful partner, my number one fan, my rock: Katie.”

The awards are typically given out in spring, but were delayed until Oct. 8 due to the coronavirus outbreak.

Former Douglas County School superintendent Teri White said Kvasnicka was already ahead of the curve on new curriculum.

“He finds joy and enthusiasm in teaching,” she said. “This educator always has time to assist teachers as well as students.”

White said the award recognized the value of Kvasnicka’s individuality.

“Patience, joy, innovation, passion and a bit of lovable quirkiness come to mind when many people think about and describe this educator.”

A Star Wars fan, White noted he would sometimes bring a light saber to crosswalk duty.

After White announced the award, the video cut to a live feed of Principal Ken Stoll presenting the award to Kvasnicka at his home in an homage to the old Publisher’s Clearing House presentations.

“Colin has only been with us a few short years, but he made a large impact,” Stoll said. “He has a wonderful rapport with parents, students, and staff. He’s quick to jump in to help.”

Stoll said Kvasnicka came up with Tech Tuesday, where teachers at Minden Elementary share ideas and new applications.

White also announced that Pau-Wa-Lu Middle School clerk Nichole Harrison was named the distinguished support staff member for 2019-20.

Principal Guy Olguin praised Harrison for her efforts on behalf of the school.

“She is the first face to see every arriving student, teacher and parent at Pau-Wa-Lu,” he said. “She has a positive attitude and a great smile.”

Harrison is often the first person at the school, checking to see if any substitutes are required for the day.

“That’s where the challenge really begins,” Olguin said. “There are many days that we don’t have all our positions filled by qualified substitute teachers. That’s when Nichole calls all active substitutes to see if any are available. I can’t remember a day when we haven’t been able to get every position filled.”

Distinguished Educator

District            Colin Kvasnicka Minden Elementary

Secondary      Kelly Winter Douglas High School

Elementary    Alyssa Park Scarselli


Gardnerville Elementary      Staci Olocki

Meneley Elementary            Stephanie McMillen

Jacks Valley Elementary       Brandi Gramolini

Piñon Hills Elementary         Cindy Patmont

Zephyr Cove Elementary     Keely O’Donnell

Carson Valley Middle            Amanda Laca

Pau-Wa-Lu Middle    Teresa Freitas

Distinguished Support Staff

District            Nichole Harrison Pau-Wa-Lu Middle School

Department   Craig Altringer Facilities

Secondary      Roxanne Young Douglas High

Elementary    Amanda Keith Minden Elementary School


Student Health Services       Jennifer Aldridge

Transportation          Jay Dossey

District Office Caryn Harper

School Nutrition        Debbie Kepler

Whittell High Deborah Duffy

ASPIRE Academy High School          Renee Bidart

Carson Valley Middle School            Jeanette Downs

Zephyr Cove Elementary School     Jennifer Galli

Piñon Hills Elementary School         Pattie Dack

Jacks Valley Elementary School       Carol Patrick

Scarselli Elementary School Tracey Muetzenberg

Meneley Elementary School            Jerry Wulf

Distinguished Administrator

Pam Gilmartin

Distinguished Counselor

Regelle Bertolone

Distinguished Service Provider-Trainer

Mark Kuniya

Distinguished School Volunteer

Elementary    Teresa Cerda Luu

Secondary      John Bergeson

Distinguished Classified Supervisor

Brittany Mally

Jordy Foster

Distinguished Substitute Teacher

Elementary    Barbara Henningsen

Secondary      James Bunn