Several Douglas elected officials lack opponents |

Several Douglas elected officials lack opponents

While turnout for the Douglas County election is expected to crack at least 90 percent, many local officials up for election have already won their seats.

Douglas County commissioner-elects Danny Tarkanian and Walt Nowosad won their races in the June Republican primary. Because state law only allows one candidate per party in partisan races to advance to the general election, they both appear by themselves on the November ballot.

District Judge Tom Gregory didn’t face an opponent this year, so he is also on the ballot by himself.

Many of the candidates who filed in March found themselves in similar circumstances, including School Board trustees Carey Kangas and Linda Gilkerson, who were confirmed in the primary.

No one is contesting seats on Douglas County’s three unincorporated towns. That means Gardnerville Town Board members Lloyd Higuerra and Mary Ann Wenner will retain their seats.

Resident Gordon Pasley will join Steve Shively and Linda Birdwell on the Genoa Town Advisory Board.

Former county commissioner and Minden Town Board member Steve Thaler is returning to the board. Appointed Minden board member Susan Jackson will receive another term.

Another former Douglas County commissioner, Jacques Etchegoyhen, didn’t draw an opponent on the East Fork Fire Protection District.

Gardnerville resident Charles Douglas Robbins, Sharon Desjardins and Teresa Duffy will take their seats on the East Fork Swimming Pool District without a race.

Robbins will also take a seat on the Douglas County Mosquito Abatement District, which only drew two candidates for three open seats. Michael Nalder also won’t face an opponent, and the district board members will have to appoint a third person to the board.