Nelson, Walsh win commission race |

Nelson, Walsh win commission race

by Aurora Sain
Larry Walsh and Dave Nelson celebrate at Hamdog's Tuesday evening after their respective county commissioner primary wins. Mr. Walsh stated 'I'm very, very happy with the results and humbled with the support from the voters in Douglas County.' Mr. Nelson stated, 'I owe it all to my campaign manager Jan Muzzy.'
Brad Coman |

Election Results

Douglas County

Commissioner District 1

Dave Nelson — 3,626*

Greg Lynn — 2,838

Commissioner District 3

Larry Walsh — 3,770*

Frank Godecke — 2,684

School Board Area 3

B. Keith Byer — 3,249*

Mike Kiger — 2,115*

Nicholas Shepack — 1,601

Minden Gardnerville Sanitation District

Barbara Smallwood — 811*

Bob Allgeier — 604*

Tim Bunting — 469*

Craig Wilcox — 418*

Patty Baratti-Sallani — 285


U.S, Senate


Catherine Cortez Masto — 1,488:81,944*

Allen Rheinhart — 102:5,645

None of these — 105:5,498

Liddo Susan O’Briant — 71:4,834

Bobby Mahendra — 57:3,760


Joe Heck — 3,695:74,517*

Sharron Angle — 2,001:26,142

None of these — 363:3,902

Thomas “Sad Tom” Heck — 215:3,570

Eddie Hamilton — 80:2,057

D’Nese Davis — 88:1,937

Bill Tarbell — 72:1,179

Robert Leeds — 27:662

Juston Preble — 34:582

Carlo Poliak — 9:279

Representative in Congress District 2

Chip Evans — 662:11,328*

Rick Shepherd — 618:8,970

Vance Alm — 297:4,799

* Will appear on the November ballot

Douglas County will have two new commissioners in January after Dave Nelson and Larry Walsh won the Republican primary on Tuesday.

In District 3, Larry Walsh defeated planning commissioner Frank Godecke with 59 percent of the vote.

“I am very excited, I can’t believe all of the support that I got,” said Walsh.

Nelson defeated District 1 incumbent Greg Lynn with about 57 percent of the vote.

“I am looking forward to being a commissioner,” said Nelson.

Turnout continues to be low for June primaries, with less than 35 percent of active voters casting a ballot.

Slightly less than 30 percent of Democrats and 45 percent of Republicans participated in the primary.

Nelson and Walsh credit their campaign managers and the people who helped to ensure they won the race.

Nelson said that he also walked the neighborhoods and knocked on 2,500 doors to introduce himself to the voters.

“I think I ran an honest campaign and told the voters what was in my heart,” said Walsh.

Both Walsh and Nelson won’t be disappearing until they take office next year, they have plans to participate in the master plan update and various planning and county commission meetings.

“I will be getting to know the county even better than I know it now,” said Nelson.

Godecke was surprised at the low voter turnout and the margin of Walsh’s victory.

“Larry and Dave both had a well organized team of people,” said Godecke.

Walsh won by 1,086 votes bringing in a total of 3,770 people, with Godecke getting 2,694 votes.

“To say I am a little bit disappointed would be the way to put it,” said Godecke. “I want to say congratulations to Larry for winning and running a fairly clean campaign.”

Keith Byer beat out his two competitors and won the race for Tahoe school board trustee with 47 percent of the vote. Byer and Michael Kiger will face off on the general election ballot in November.

Barbara Smallwood and Bob Allgeier were the front runners on the Minden-Gardnerville Sanitation District with 31 and 23 percent of the vote respectively.

Of the five candidates on the primary ballot, all but Gardnerville resident Patty Baratti-Sallani will appear on the general election ballot.

Only 16 percent of eligible Douglas County voters turned out on Election Day, followed by 4 percent absentee ballot voters and 14 percent early voters.