Most local candidates survive primaries |

Most local candidates survive primaries

Staff Reports

While Tuesday’s election saw two county commissioner candidates removed from contention, it left two thirds of the dozen local names on the primary ballot for the general election in November.

That’s because voters only eliminated two other names from contention, school board Area 3 candidate Nicholas Shepack and Minden-Gardnerville Sanitation District candidate Patty Baratti-Sallani.

Both B. Keith Byer and Mike Kiger will return in November for the school board race.

Minden-Gardnerville Sanitation District incumbents Barbara Smallwood and Bob Allgeier will face Tim Bunting and Craig Wilcok on the November ballot.

Both Dave Nelson and Larry Walsh will be unopposed on the November ballot, as will commissioner Barry Penzel. All three men will take office in January 2017.

November will also see a race for school board area 5 between Linda Gilkerson and Larry Lippmann.

Douglas County voters reflected Nevadans in statewide races, with Joe Heck and Catherine Cortez Masto winning their Senate primary races.

Democrat Chip Evans will go on to face Republican Rep. Mark Amodei, R-Carson City. No Democrat has ever won that seat in Congress.