Two selected for Genoa Town Board |

Two selected for Genoa Town Board

Genoans said farewell to Town Board members Brian Williams and Dave Whitgob and recommended their replacements on Tuesday.

Linda Birdwell, 62, and Tim De Turk, 60, were recommended to the Douglas County Board of Commissioners.

Town Manager Phil Ritger said he would submit the names to the county for inclusion on the county commissioners Dec. 18 agenda.

De Turk told the board he would gladly yield if either Whitgob or Williams were interested in retaining their seats.

“I don’t think we could have done much better,” Whitgob said. “I know how much you both care for the town. Knowing you both I think your sphere of expertise will help round out the town board.”

De Turk has lived in Foothill Meadows for two years. Birdwell is a 9-year resident of Sierra Shadows.

Whitgob was appointed to replace board member Jack Pettit, who moved away in February 2007.

Williams and fellow board member Greg Pace were elected in 2006. Williams and Whitgob didn’t file for re-election. Pace filed for a third term, and will be only the second town board member to be term-limited out.

Whitgob said Tuesday that he felt eight years was a good amount of time to spend on a board.

He will continue to chair the steering committee for the 2015 Cowboy Poetry Festival.

On Tuesday night, Gardnerville Town Board members said farewell to Mike Philips, who was prevented from seeking another four years by term limits. First elected in 2002, Philips served 12 years on the board.

He was presented with a trophy last month by the Nevada Association of Cities.