State press association honors Crandall |

State press association honors Crandall

by Kurt Hildebrand

Record-Courier Sports Editor Joey Crandall was named the journalist of merit for weekly newspapers at Saturday’s Nevada Press Association banquet in Las Vegas.

Crandall, a Gardnerville native and Douglas High School graduate, covered the business and county beats before being named sports editor.

Judges focused on Crandall’s versatility in their comments.

“Crandall seems to do it all,” they wrote. “But not only that he does it all well. From page design to investigative reporting, Crandall captures the reader – even in a column about crabs. Very well done.”

Crandall is the second R-C staffer to win the award in two years. Last year police and education reporter Maggie O’Neill was named the journalist of merit. The award is given in daily and weekly categories to journalists with five years or fewer working in the business.

The Record-Courier staff also brought home seven first place awards in the large weekly category, including best special section for the Carson Valley Almanac.

O’Neill and Crandall collaborated to win best spot news and best explanatory journalism first places for their work in the Stratton Center hostage taking.

Regina Purcell won first place for best investigative story for her work on the Carson Valley Water publication.

Photographers Belinda Grant and Shannon Litz both brought home first place awards for their work in The Record-Courier.

Grant won first place for best spot news photo for her work during the Pau-Wa-Lu mercury spill clean-up and another for best general news photo for her photo of Lorelle Chorkey during the Christopher Fiegehen trial.

Litz’s Leap Year won for best illustrated photo.

Other awards include:

Second places

News feature, Maggie O’Neill

Entertainment writing, Karel Ancona-Henry

Editorial page

Page one design

Best feature photo, Belinda Grant

Best sports photo, Belinda Grant

Third places

Business feature, Joey Crandall

Multiple Feature photos, Belinda Grant

Best portrait, Shannon Litz

Honorable mention

Best page designer, Joey Crandall