South Lake Tahoe speed limits still being enforced
February 23, 2012
South Lake Tahoe police are reminding the public that it’s not safe to travel 65 mph down Highway 50 through South Lake Tahoe and that they’ll continue to enforce the posted speed limit.
Although the general speed limit is currently defined as 55 mph on Highway 50 where there exists a single lane of traffic in either direction, or 65 mph where there are two lanes of traffic in either direction, those speeds are not a safe speed in the city limits of South Lake Tahoe at any time, the police department said in a statement.
Regardless of any posted speed limit signs, the basic speed law always exists on all California highways at all times as described in section 22350 of the California Vehicle Code, “No person shall drive a vehicle upon a highway at a speed greater than is reasonable or prudent having due regard for weather, visibility, the traffic on, and the surface and width of, the highway, and in no event at a speed which endangers the safety of persons or property.”
Chief Brian Uhler has instructed South Lake Tahoe officers to continue enforcing the basic speed law on Highway 50 by issuing speeding citations to those drivers who operate their vehicles in violation of Vehicle Code § 22350.
Based upon the latest Caltrans traffic and engineering study, the speed limit will increase by 5 mph from what is currently posted.
However, until the new speed limit signs are posted along Highway 50, the existing speed limit signs are currently not enforceable. While we are in this transition, we strongly encourage our residents and visitors to continue following the currently posted speed limit signs.
Recommended Stories For You
“It is unreasonable for anyone to consider 55 mph or 65 mph a safe speed on Highway 50 in South Lake Tahoe. Driving at those speeds could potentially constitute reckless driving,” Uhler said.
The California Vehicle Code defines reckless driving in section § 23103 as, “A person who drives a vehicle upon a highway in willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property.”
Reckless driving is a misdemeanor criminal offense, and can be punished by imprisonment in a county jail for not less than five days or more than 90 days or by a fine of not less than $145 or more than $1,000, or by both that fine and imprisonment.
The South Lake Tahoe Police Department remains committed to the safety of our public, regardless of their mode of transportation.