Second commission race develops |

Second commission race develops

A second Douglas County commissioner race developed on Monday when Planning Commissioner Frank Godecke filed for the District 3 seat against Larry Walsh.

The seat is held by Chairman Doug Johnson, who is only the second commissioner in Douglas County history to hit the 12-year term limit.

A longtime Carson Valley rancher, Godecke ran against Johnson in 2012, losing in the general election.

Godecke’s filing brings the number of local contested races in the 2016 election to four as of Tuesday morning. Dave Nelson is challenging District 1 Commissioner Greg Lynn in a rematch of their 2008 race.

Two Gardnerville Ranchos residents are competing for the School Board Area 5 seat.

Larry Lippman filed a second time for the position he sought in 2012. Lippman is a retired teacher and former coach of the Douglas High School Academic Team.

Also seeking the seat is Tahoe Youth and Family Services’ mentor coordinator Linda Gilkerson. It is being vacated by trustee Teri Jamin.

Five residents are now seeking a seat on the Minden-Gardnerville Sanitation District, headquartered in Minden.

Incumbents Bob Allgeier and Barbara Smallwood are competing with Gardnerville residents Patty Baratti-Sallani and Craig Wilcox and Minden resident Tim Bunting.

While appearing to have enough candidates to prompt the first election battle in many years, the four residents signed up for Genoa Town Board may go unchallenged.

Linda Birdwell and Timoth DeTurk were appointed after not enough people ran in the last election.

Residents Patricia Eckman and Steven Shively have also filed for the board. However chairman Trent Tholen said neither he, nor member Nancy Aten, are seeking re-election.

Filing closes 5 p.m. Friday.