Record-Courier wins awards at state press convention |

Record-Courier wins awards at state press convention

staff reports

The Record-Courier brought home 39 awards from the Nevada Press Association convention last weekend in Las Vegas.

Top honors included the first place Community Service Award for newspapers classified as large weeklies and the sweepstakes award for ad of the year, winning over all Nevada newspapers.

The R-C competes in a class of weekly newspapers with circulation of 5,000 or more. Awards were presented in news and advertising categories for work published from April 1999 through March 2000.

Entries were submitted from newspapers published between April 1999 through March 2000.

“Winning 39 awards in the state contest and two more on the national level is an impressive accomplishment,” said Peter Kostes, R-C publisher. “I’m very proud of our staff. We have an extremely talented and dedicated group of people committed to producing the best community newspaper possible. It’s great to see all their good work get recognized.”

Kostes was elected to a two-year term on the NPA board of directors.

The ad of the year, designed by former R-C employees Leesa Park and Tamra Sheline was created for Jessica Jensen formerly of Lakeview Mortgage.

In the community service category, the R-C staff was honored for its coverage of the local reaction to the shooting at Columbine High School.

“A wide range of stories, opinions and letters to the editor on a subject that every community and school district must given some thought to. DHS, the community and the newspaper all did more than just talk about it,” judges wrote in their comments.

Other awards earned by the R-C staff included:

Best spot news story: first place, Merrie Leininger and Christy Chalmers, Krystal Steadman murder; honorable mention, Christy Chalmers and Sheila Gardner, glider crash;

Best feature story: first place, Nancy Hamlett, unpacking the Hansen family history; second place, Sheila Gardner, love that lasted half a century;

Best business story: third place, Sheila Gardner, MTBE cleanup;

Best investigative story: third place, R-C staff, Millennium series;

Best local column: first place, Linda Hiller;

Best local non-staff column, second place, Marie Johnson;

Best sports story: second place, Chuck Smock;

Best editorial: second, third place, Sheila Gardner

Best editorial page: honorable mention, The Record-Courier;

Best overall design: third place, Joyce Hollister;

Best special section: first place, Joyce Hollister, Carson Valley Almanac; third place, Joyce Hollister, Today’s Woman;

Best headline writing: first and second place, Sheila Gardner;

Best spot news photo: second place, Derrik Bryant, gasoline station fire;

Best feature photo: third place, Belinda Grant, Jacobs’ family feature;

Best multiple feature photo: second place, Belinda Grant, climbing Job’s Peak;

Best portrait: second place, Belinda Grant, Still My Valentine; third place, Belinda Grant;

Best Illustrated photo: first, second, third and honorable mention, Belinda Grant;

Best sports photo: honorable mention, Belinda Grant;

Best large space ad: first place, Leesa Park and Tamra Sheline;

Best small space ad: second place, Ardith Racco, Chris Olesen, Tamra Sheline; third place, Ardith Racco, Chris Olesen and Tamra Sheline;

Best spot color ad: first place, Victoria Grathwohl and Chris Olesen; third place, Tamra Sheline;

Best multi-color ad: first place, Victoria Grathwohl and Tamra Sheline;

Best special section advertising: second place, Carson Valley Almanac, staff;

Best in-house advertising promotion: second place, BettyJo Heaton, Chris Olesen, Tamra Sheline; third place, Peter Kostes, BettyJo Heaton, Chris Olesen;

General excellence, advertising, third place, The Record-Courier