Online town hall debates start Monday |

Online town hall debates start Monday

Staff Reports

With early voting set to kick off Oct. 16, The Record-Courier will host a series of online town hall debates beginning Monday afternoon.

Douglas County Commission District 2 candidates Dave Brady and Lee Bonner will kick things off Monday at 4 p.m.

Commission District 4 candidates Nancy McDermid and Lawrence Howell will participate Wednesday from 6:45 to 8:45 p.m.

The following week, school board candidates Tom Moore, Jeanie Turnbeaugh and Sharla Hales are scheduled to participate on Oct. 20 from 4 to 6 p.m. The remaining three school board candidates were not available to participate.

The two-hour forums will be conducted using CoverItLive technology, which will allow readers to ask questions of candidates and read the subsequent answers as candidates post them.

The transcript of the debates will also be available online through election day for those that aren’t able to watch live.

Excerpts may also be printed in The Record-Courier.

To view or participate in the debate, go to