Nominations sought for Andy Aldax award |

Nominations sought for Andy Aldax award

Staff Reports

The Carson Water Subconservancy District is looking for nominations for the 2014 Andy Aldax Award for Exemplary Service in Conservation and Protection of the Carson Watershed.

Named after lifelong subconservancy district board member and Carson Valley rancher Andy Aldax, nominations for the award are due Nov. 15.

Aldax was the first recipient of the award in 2007. Since then, Dan Kaffer, Norm and Sue Frey, Linda Conlin, Debbie Waldear, John Cobourn and the Minor Family Ranch have been named.

Award winners demonstrate a commitment to watershed conservation activities for 10 years or more, produce accomplishments toward the goals outlined in the watershed vision statement and may be a landowner, community member, or an employee of a federal, state or local entity, or organization operating in the watershed.

Nominations should be sent to Toni Leffler at

The award will be presented at the board meeting of Jan. 15, 2014.