Names of Grand jury members released |

Names of Grand jury members released

by Christy Chalmers, staff writer

Ten women and seven men make up the 2000 Douglas County grand jury.

Their names were released Friday. District Judge Dave Gamble said the panel members decided to identify themselves.

“We’re doing this so people will know who is serving on their grand jury, but it is not for the purpose of contacting them directly,” he said.

Instead, residents who want the grand jury to review complaints should complete one of the forms that are available at locations throughout the county.

Gamble said the jurors are already investigating several complaints.

“There haven’t been any turned in that haven’t been transmitted to the grand jury,” he noted.

The jury members are:

Susan Anderson, William L. Arnold, Nancy K. Cauley, Betty L. Cleary, Carole Freeman, Diane Gross, Janet Hawkins, Gerald Hoover, Louise Johnson, Susan Joseph-Taylor, Jeffrey Knowles, John McCall, James M. Peak, Philip M. Rhodes, Timothy J. Slater, Carolyn R. Treanor and Patricia Welze.

All are Douglas County residents. Freeman is the foreperson and McCall is vice-foreperson.

The jury was convened to review county operations, not in response to any suspected wrongdoing. The last grand jury met in 1993 and 1994.

Anyone interested in submitting a query can get a form at the chambers of district judges Michael Gibbons and Dave Gamble and the district court offices, located in the Judicial and Law Enforcement Building, 1625 Eighth St., Minden; at the clerk’s office in the Minden Inn, 1594 Esmeralda Ave. and at the Minden library, 1624 Library Lane.

At Lake Tahoe, the forms are available from the clerk’s offices at the county administration building, 175 Highway 50, and the Zephyr Cove library on Warrior Way.

Completed forms must be submitted to the district court judges.