Kindergarten registration coming up | RecordCourier.com

Kindergarten registration coming up

Staff Reports

Kindergarten pre-registration for the 2007-08 school year is March 19-30.

Nevada School Law states that a child must be 5 years old by Sept. 30 to attend kindergarten during the 2007-08 school year.

Registering children now can help prevent large kindergarten classes next year.

Parents must bring the following to register their child:

— Original birth certificate,

— Complete and up-to-date immunization records signed by a doctor or nurse as required by Nevada Law,

— Proof of residency (utility bill with street address) in your neighborhood.

— Registration materials are available at each school site or online at http://www.dcsd.k12.nv.us.

Children will be enrolled provided all immunizations are completed by the start of the school year.

Chief school nurse Bonnie Dellner will give immunizations at Gardnerville Elementary School from 9-11 a.m. March 27 and at Minden Elementary School from 1-3 p.m. March 28. Meneley will also offer immunizations during pre-registration. Call individual schools to find out when immunizations will be given.

The Douglas County Health Nurse provides kindergarten shot clinics.

Immunizations may also be made by appointment.

For cost and appointment times, call the Douglas County Community Health Nurse at 782-9038.

State of Nevada immunization requirements for kindergartners and new students to Nevada:

— DTaP (Diphtheria, tetanus, pertussis) Four doses and fifth dose if the fourth dose was before age 4,

— IPV (Polio) Three doses and a fourth dose if the third was before age 4,

— MMR (Measles, mumps, rubella) Two doses: first after 12 months of age, second at least four weeks later,

— Hepatitis A Two doses at least 6 months apart after 2 years of age. Required if enrolled after June 30, 2002,

— Hepatitis B Three doses: second dose is one month after first and third dose is 6 months after first. Required after June 30, 2002,

— Varicella (Chicken pox) One dose if younger than age 13, otherwise two doses 4-6 weeks apart or state age at time of disease. Required if enrolled after June 30, 2003.

— Douglas County Community Health Department

1133 Spruce St., Gardnerville 782-9038

— Carson City Community Health Department

900 E. Long St., Carson City 887-2195