Driver’s Ed classes offered over winter break
New Driver Education courses for teens age 15 and older will be offered at Western Nevada College over the Christmas break. All courses are $110.
Courses will meet over the winter break in both Carson City and Douglas County. The winter break classes will meet Mondays and Tuesdays, Dec. 21, 22, 28 and 29, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Young drivers will learn safe driving techniques through lectures, class discussion, guest speakers, and films that cover Nevada driving regulations, basic vehicle control, and driving maneuvers in various situations and environments. Nevada state law requires new drivers under age 18 to take a 30-hour New Driver Education course if one is offered within 30 miles of their home.
In addition to Nevada driving regulations, the course covers how to handle distractions and peer pressure, and how to prevent falling asleep at the wheel and driving under the influence. Speakers include public safety officials and insurance representatives. Instruction includes tips on how to drive safely around large trucks and motorcycles and avoid unexpected objects in the road, as well as maneuvering safely through roundabouts and rules for driving in bad weather.
New drivers should be aware that non-commercial license fees are now $25 for first time testing. There is a new $10 retest fee each time the written or behind-the-wheel driving skills test is retaken.
To register for the non-credit class, fill out the online WNC Application at http://www.wnc.edu/drivereducation/, then print out and mail or fax (445-3148) the Driver Education Registration Form to WNC Admissions, 2201 West College Parkway, Carson City, NV 89703. Once processed, normally two days after it is received, students may call 445-4458 or proceed with Web-REG to confirm registration and pay for the class.
More information: 445-4458.