Douglas County students honored for education programs |

Douglas County students honored for education programs

Staff reports

Twenty-six Douglas County students were honored recently for their excellence in vocational and occupational education programs.

At the annual awards event held at Harrah’s Top of the Wheel restaurant in Stateline, business partners were also honored.

Mary Wheeler of Douglas High School’s schools-to-careers program, said this year’s outstanding business award went to Kevin Farrell from Injection Labs, Inc.

“He was nominated because he has a lot of student interns and he works around their schedule and makes it easy for them to go to school and to work. He was nominated by school board member Don Forrester and Forrester presented the award,” Wheeler said.

She said the occupational teacher of the year was Rita Borselli, who runs the sreenprinting class and business. She also recieved a state award for her computer graphics class.

“She just does such a great job with the kids. She puts in a lot of extra time and effort and she really tries to help the kids,” Wheeler said.

Academic teacher of the year was Jill Alley and tech prep teacher was Wayne Moore.

Dave Bolick, director of the Carson Valley Chamber of Commerce and Visitor’s Authority was also honored as business person of the year.

Wheeler said it was the students who made this year’s ceremony special.

“What was really neat this year is (DHS teacher) Mike Schneider was MC and he asked the first student if he wanted to say something, and after that, every student spoke. It was really touching to for the teachers to hear what the students felt about them and their class,” Wheeler said.

Students honored were: Samantha Goldstein, agriculture; David Inmon, auto tech; Duston Maynes, auto body; Robert Therres, communication in the workplace; Nick Baron, communication in the workplace; Joe Bowler, computer technology; Jennifer Petite, EMT; Erin Foster, journalism;

Donald Cullers, welding; Shannon Hall, photography; Chase Johnson, screenprinting; Brad Butti, computer graphics; Angel Vasqas and Sari Marteinez, special educaiton work experience; Robert Sandy, woodshop; Chuck Paya, construction tech; Jen Weirauch, television producation;

Shawn Jackson, computer networking and repair; Christopher Blake and Breanna Smith, community based internship; Michael Boyd and Jaysen Glomi, cooperative occupational education; James Hart, computer engraving; Monica Murphy, floriculture; Tim Ward, gourmet foods; and Stephanie Poclasek, culinary arts.