County completes swearing in |

County completes swearing in

by Sheila Gardner

In a swearing-in ceremony that took less than 10 minutes, a dozen Douglas County elected officials continued a legacy of public service of more than 75 years.

“It may seem like a small thing, but I think it’s important that we, as a community, acknowledge what these people agreed to do by entering into public service,” said District Judge Dave Gamble, who administered the oath of office Monday.

“It’s an honor to be able to serve the public,” Gamble said. “For the next few years, concentrate on putting everyone in Douglas County ahead of you.”

Assessor Barbara Byington and East Fork Township Constable Paul Gilbert lead off the seniority list with 16 years each. Both were first sworn in on Jan. 1, 1983. Other veteran officials sworn in Monday included Clerk-Treasurer Barbara Byington, with 12 years of service and District Attorney Scott Doyle and Tahoe Township Constable Roger Hargis, both in office since 1991.

“This is a great day for everybody,” said District Judge Michael Gibbons, who assisted with the ceremony. “You’ve worked so hard to get there, now you have the opportunity to work in the job you sought. With term limits, for some of you, this might be your last term in office.”

Also sworn in Monday were county commissioners Jacques Etchegoyhen and Don Miner; school district trustees Randy Wallstrum, Michele Lewis, Cheri Johnson, and George Echan; Genoa Town Board members Michael Miluck and Lou Schaffer, County Recorder Linda Slater, Sheriff Ron Pierini, and Public Administrator Lynn EnEarl.

– Etchegoyhen gets nod. Following the ceremony, county commissioners held their first meeting of the new year and unanimously re-elected Etchegoyhen as chairman.

“I believe the last two years have been quite productive, along with the persona that’s been presented to the community,” said Miner in nominating Etchegoyhen for another term as chairman of the five-member board.

Commissioner Bernie Curtis nominated Miner for another term as vice chairman, but Miner declined, and nominated Curtis who was unanimously elected by his colleagues.

“I would like to see us rotate this job,” Miner said.

The board also approved the 1999 Douglas County jury list consisting of 3,511 names gleaned from registered voters and 4,285 candidates from the Department of Motor Vehicles.

Back to Front Page