Commission chairman seeks fire board seat |

Commission chairman seeks fire board seat

Staff Reports

The deadline for filing applications for the first East Fork Fire District Board of Trustees is 5 p.m. Friday.

Last week, Commission Chairman Doug Johnson announced that he had applied for a seat on the board.

Johnson served as a volunteer in the Ruhenstroth Volunteer Fire Department, taking part in fighting the Autumn Hills Fire in 1996.

He said that because he is seeking a seat on the board, he would recuse himself on any of the discussions on selecting board members.

Commission vice chairwoman Nancy McDermid said she was pleased Johnson had applied for the board.

“I’m glad you did,” she said. “I think it’s important in the transition.”

Applications are available at Applicants may fill them out electronically, but must bring the application into the East Fork Fire District offices at 1694 County Road, Minden.

Applications are public record. Carlini said the names of the applicants will be released the end of the month.

Fire board hopefuls are expected to go before the county commission on Oct. 6 for final selection. Once chosen, the fire board will take over the East Fork Fire Protection District on Jan. 4.

The district is divided into five areas. Each area will be represented by a member of the fire board, who lives there. The first election to the fire board will be for two members in 2018. The rest of the board will stand for election in 2020.