Johnson, McDermid to lead commission |

Johnson, McDermid to lead commission

Staff Reports

Douglas County commissioners are starting out 2014 with a new chairman and vice chair.

Veteran Commissioner Doug Johnson was elected Monday as chairman for the next year with Nancy McDermid tapped for vice chair.

Johnson, first elected to the board in 2004, moved up from the vice chair’s position to replace Commissioner Greg Lynn.

Johnson previously served as chairman of the commission in 2007.

The nominations were approved unanimously.

Commissioner Barry Penzel presented Lynn with a bolo tie, the outgoing chairman’s trademark “fashion statement.”

He gave Johnson one of the new chair’s signature bow ties.

Penzel credited with Johnson and Lynn with helping acclimate him to his role as a new county commissioner last year.

“It’s not often a rookie gets to go back to school, and it’s not often that I get called a rookie at my age,” Penzel said.

Clerk-Treasurer Ted Thran presented Lynn with a ceremonial gavel in appreciation for his year as chairman.

The board also made appointments to numerous county advisory boards:

■ 911 Surcharge Advisory Committee: Bruce A. Beamer (incumbent), Bill Driscoll;

■ Airport Advisory Committee: incumbents Alfred Browne, Howard Charney, William Chernock, Linda Mae Draper-Hivert;

■ Board of Equalization: Mark Hussman (incumbent);

■ Genoa Historic District: incumbents Marian Vassar and Robert Centanni; Becky Pappenfort;

■ Parks and Recreation Commission: incumbents Celeste Pierini and Britta Swanson; Gary Dove;

■ Planning Commission: incumbents Margaret Pross and Jim Madsen;

■ Senior Services Advisory Committee: incumbents Robert A. Cook, Paul Lockwood and Michael Olson;

■ Water Conveyance Advisory Committee: incumbents Dennis Jensen, Russell E. Scossa and Fred Stodieck;

■ Western Nevada Development District: Michael Dunn.