FFA brings home convention awards; Goldstein elected state historian | RecordCourier.com

FFA brings home convention awards; Goldstein elected state historian

by Tyrel Dressler

Carson Valley FFA had 19 members attend the Nevada State FFA Convention held March 21-24 at the University of Nevada, Reno. The theme this year for the state convention was “Go,” as in the following themes for each of the retiring speeches given by the 2000-2001 state officers: “Go Be Positive,” “Go Exceed,” “Go With Pride,” “Go for Success,” Go Beyond,” “Go for the Gold” and “Going the Distance.”

Members of the chapter are proud of chapter president Samantha Goldstein because she was selected the Nevada State FFA historian by the FFA nominating committee. The committee consists of one member from each chapter throughout the state. Samantha entered a resume of her accomplishments, took a written test and was interviewed several times throughout the convention.

Chapter members attended workshops, seven sessions with outstanding speakers, competed in various contests and various teams took written tests corresponding to their particular contest. Teams included livestock judging, horse judging, nursery/

landscaping, meats judging, rituals, parliamentary procedures, floriculture and extemporaneous speaking.

Senior Horse Judging Team consisting of Bridget Wood, Lucia Willson, Ellen Lillegard and Annie Sweets took first place. Junior livestock judging team member David Hoskin took a second high individual and Kyle Martinez took first high individual. The team took a first place.

Aimee Hoskin, Samantha Goldstein, Bridget Wood and Tyrel Dressler, as alternate, were delegates. Throughout the convention they attended meetings regarding bylaws and any rule changes.

Bridget Wood, chapter secretary, and Tyrel Dressler, chapter reporter, each took a third place with their respective books. Another honor that was bestowed on the chapter was the best dressed award.

FFA photo

Carson Valley FFA members: Waiting to take their tests at the Nevada State FFA Convention are, from left, Kim Hargrave, floriculture team; Aimee Hoskin, parliamentary procedures team; Anna Delgadillo, rituals team; and Miesha Thomas, horse judging team.