DHS inducts 45 new members | RecordCourier.com

DHS inducts 45 new members

Staff reports

On May 20, the Douglas High School National Honor Society inducted 45 sophomores and juniors as new members. The ceremony, held at Harrah’s Lake Tahoe, included student speakers, an address by Superintendent of Schools Pendery Clark and presentation of membership certificates.

To be considered for induction, a student must have a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.6. Honor society members are required to maintain a 3.6 GPA and perform at least 10 hours of community service each school year, said advisor Martha Mathews.

This year, honor society students organized a “scavenger hunt” to collect items for local charities, provided a free babysitting night, went caroling in the community, participated in a coat drive and helped with a canned food drive. Members also volunteered hours tutoring other students, Mathews said.

Inductees listened to short speeches by senior NHS members Rebecca Rippee, Taya Willden, Jenny Marchand and Megan Downs. Clark also spoke to the inductees. Harrah’s donated use of their facilities as part of their partnership in education.

New honor society inductees include juniors Alexis Drange and Emily Frega and sophomores Risha Abele, Gieorag Andrews, Sarah Andrews, Ashlee Anker, Monique Baumann, Zachary Beres, John Bopp, Amber Breuer, Sara Bunting, Devin Cartwright, Amanda Crandall, Erik Curtis, Todd Doherty, Benjamin Dykes, Allison Ecklund, Andrea Garcia, Samantha Goldstein, Kathryne Green, Drew Hall, Lauren Hayes, Blake Hennessy-York, Peter Keegan, Jedediah Kuhn, Joshua Linn, Jamie McCreary, Katie McDole, Kelly McIntosh, Jennifer McLaughlin, Katie Merry, Hillary Moreira, Gretchen Nystrom, Casondra Ottawa, Maren Parsons, Jason Poterfield, Crystal Roles, Chelsea Rowe, Johanna Sergott, David Servatius, Tess Sheridan, Ashley Sulprizio, Angela Sweet, Megan Willden and Sarah Wise.