Community members judg science fair projects |

Community members judg science fair projects

Staff Report

The C.C. Meneley Elementary School Science Fair wrapped up last week with awards ceremonies following judging of projects by members of the community.

Science fair projects challenge students to ask “why” about the world around them and to explore different methods to answer their questions, said Principal Brian Frazier.

The Science Fair was coordinated by teacher Ken Stoll, who was also a judge of projects along with volunteers from the school district and community.

Older students in grades 4 to 6 address a complete section of the competencies required at their grade levels while participating in a hands-on activity, Frazier said, while younger students did group projects to address specific academic topics.

Top winners go on to regional competition in Reno.

Students going to the regional competition in Reno are Nik Andrus, James Forst, Spencer Rogers, Travis Moore, Anthony Alvitre, Ryan Olsen, Michael Raker, Linda Morgan, jacob Kangas, Allison Hines, Allison Busse and Cory Eilers.

6th grade winners include Michael Raker, first place; Linda Morgan and Jacob Kangas, second; Allison Hines, Allison Busse, Cory Eilers, Edward Lindo and Michael Fuller, third.

5th grade winners, Spencer Rogers and Travis Moore, first; Garrett Hekhuis, second; Amanda McComb, Anthony Alvitre, Levi Clark, Ryan O’Hair and Ryan Olsen, third.

4th grade winners, Nik Andrus, first; James Forst and Dustin Mathes, second; Alyssa Kangas, Jessica Desimone, Laura Wood and Page Kirby, third.

Science fair judges were Jim Keegan, Lisa Fontana, Ron Pierini, Maggie Allen, Denise Higgins, Cindy Orr, Brian Frazier, Trich Michitarian, Cathy Hackler, Kathie Jarboe, Brandon Swain, Jay Bigelow, Chris Perdomo, Norma Villasenor, Sherry Welty, Cris Etchegoyhen, Dick Ficco, Roy Casey, Colleen Thran, Steve Alcorn, Jennie Hill, Larry Werner, Jerome Etchegoyhen, John Soderman, Ken Stoll, Alan Schachtely, Shirley D’Souza and Kristen Johnson.