ASPIRE Academy open house set Aug. 1 |

ASPIRE Academy open house set Aug. 1

Staff Reports
The 2013 ASPIRE graduating class includes, top row, Jacob Krupp, Nevin Henderson, Shawn Miller, David Sanchez, Baylee Inman, Hobie Gregory, Kyle Storhill, Harlan Wilson and Peter Kha; front row, Victoria Martin, Hope Roach, Taylor Goforth, Nicole Marguth, Aiyana Adams, Ashley Snyder-Starr and Adrienne Testa.
Special to the RC |


ASPIRE Academy High School open house and information night, Thursday, Aug. 1, 5:30 p.m., 1617 Water St., Building E, Minden. Information: (775) 392-1475.

Parents and students are invited to an open house 5:30 p.m. Thursday at ASPIRE Academy High School, Douglas County’s new alternative high school.

Beginning with the new school year, ASPIRE will be a separate high school following approval by the Douglas County School Board to pursue accreditation.

As its own high school, ASPIRE Academy is open for registration for ninth through 12th grade students who are interested in a small high school setting with a focus in three specific areas: character education, community involvement and creative curriculum.

ASPIRE Academy High School offers small class sizes with individual attention using a combination of a rigorous online academic system, as well as direct instruction for math, physical education and state of the art digital photography and graphic design classes, said Lyn Gorrindo, assistant superintendent for education services.

“ASPIRE Academy also has a phenomenal career and technology education program and is unique in that it provides opportunities for industrious students to accelerate or recover credit,” Gorrindo said.“ASPIRE’s acronym — All Students Pursing Integrity, Responsibility and Education — is taken to heart by all students and staff. This philosophy sets a tone for a school atmosphere that feels like family and fosters success, both in school and in life.”

Graduates in the class of 2013 included: Aiyana Adams,Taylor Goforth, Taylor Graham. Hobie Gregory, Karl Immers, Baylee Inman, Ethan Isaacs, Peter Kha, Allison Kraten, Jacob Krupp, Nicole Marguth, Victoria Martin, Hunter McEachin, Madaleine Osborn, Hope Roach, David Sanchez, Ashley Snyder-Starr, Melissa Stone, Adrienne Testa, Ben Wetzel, Devon Williams, Kyle Storhill, Harlan Wilson, and Shawn Miller.

The school board approved hiring a principal for ASPIRE Academy, who will also serve as the administrator for Jacobsen High School at China Spring Youth Facility, Tahoe Detention Center, and the school district adult education program. The school board approved hiring of a full-time counselor to provide academic and career counseling support for Jacobsen High School and adult education.

Registration is currently open for ASPIRE Academy High School. Gorrindo said there are a limited number of spaces available. Call (775) 392-1475 for information. A waiting list and application process will be in affect once all student spaces are full.

ASPIRE Academy High School is at 1617 Water St., Building E, Minden.