Alpine incumbent holds seat |

Alpine incumbent holds seat

Staff Reports

Alpine County Supervisor Ron Hames won another term on the board after defeating opponent James Holdridge Jr. 71-46 on Tuesday.

Nearly 71 percent of Alpine County’s 724 registered voters cast a ballot in the 2016 primary election. The election in California’s least populated county is conducted by mail.

In Alpine County, voters are limited to the voting for the supervisor who represents their district.

In Alpine District 5, geologist David Julius Griffith and retired college professor Tom Sweeney will continue onto the general election in November after neither man won more than 50 percent of the vote in the three-way race.

Mono County District 4 Supervisor Tim Fesko and challenger John Peters will face off again in November after Peters won 327 votes to Fesko’s 281. Third candidate Bob Tems received 101 votes according to Mono County election results.

Since neither Fesko nor Peters won more than 50 percent of the vote they will meet again in November.

Turnout in Mono County was 56.44 percent, with 3,349 voters casting a ballot in person or by mail.

Bernie Sanders won the Democratic presidential primary in both Alpine and Mono Counties. Donald Trump walked away with the primary on the Republican side, with John Kasich coming in second in both counties.

Hillary Clinton won the statewide election with 55.8 percent of the vote, according to the California Secretary of State’s Office. Trump took 75.3 percent of the Republican vote.

Today is the last day for Nevadans to cast a ballot early before Tuesday’s primary election.

As of Wednesday night, nearly 4,000 Douglas County residents cast a ballot either early or through absentee.

Douglas residents will be able to vote early through 6 p.m. today at the Douglas County Courthouse in Minden or at the Douglas County Administrative Building in Stateline.

On Tuesday, voters will have to go to the polling place associated with their precinct to cast a ballot. The polls will be open 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.