4-H members get awards at banquet | RecordCourier.com

4-H members get awards at banquet

by Tonja Dressler

On Nov. 4, the Douglas County 4-H held the annual awards banquet at Pau-Wa-Lu Middle School. All the Friends of 4-H were honored, and the Friends who were present were John Diaz of Valley Chevrolet, Steve Fehsal of the Douglas County Parks Department, Nick Barainca of Scolari’s, DeAnn Hoogestraat, Jay Hoogestraat, the Goldstein family, Norm Sharkey, members of the 20-30 Club, Elks BPO Lodge, Barbara Byington, Stan and Wendy Kolbus of S&W Feed, Terry Martinez and Chet Wass of Superior Car Wash, Mike Menesini of Wells Fargo Bank, Mutsuo Yoshisato, Natural Resource Specialist Ed Smith and Patricia Gay.

The Outstanding Friend of 4-H was presented to the Gardnerville-Carson Valley Kiwanis. The Outstanding Teacher award went to Janet Goldstein and a Special Thanks Award went to Terry Martinez of Superior Car Wash. Kenneth Bobbitt received the Outstanding Volunteer award and Tom Mapes was honored by the Douglas County Sharp Shooters.

Year-end pins were donated by Wells Fargo and handed out by Mike Menesini. Medals and certificates were all given out to the 4-H club members by their leaders. The Outstanding Teen Teacher award went to Bridget Wood. The Outstanding 4-H Member awards went to the following: Shannon Martinez, Cloverbud; Brian Hoskin, Junior; Victoria Gay, Intermediate; and Tyrel Dressler, Senior.

The winners of this year’s end-of-the-year 4-H Portfolio awards were presented by Kiwanians Nick Barainca and Steve Lewis to the following:

n Cloverbuds, first place, Shannon Martinez; second, Lacey Hayes; third, Jamie Greer; fourth, Devy deVries; and fifth, Jake deVries.

n Juniors, first place, Jessica Kolbus; second, Brian Hoskin; third, Savannah Hayes; fourth, Josh Vogel; and fifth, Cristina Siqueiros.

n Intermediates, first place, Victoria Gay; second, Annaliese Foster; third, Kyle Martinez; fourth Charlie Pedrett; and fifth, Eamonn Embree.

n Seniors, first place, Tyrel Dressler; second, Russell Pedrett; third, Samantha Goldstein; fourth, Jobeth Machal; and fifth, James Foster.

The Kiwanis gave cash prizes to all the winners, totaling $600.

4-H photo

4-H. Douglas County 4-H Livestock Judging Team, Intermediate and Seniors, received their medals on 4-H Awards Night. They are, back row, center, Russell Pedrett; middle row, Bridget Wood, Aimee Hoskin, Charlie Pedrett, Tyrel Dressler, Ben Wood; and first row, Skyler Zulian, Jessica Greer and Kyle Martinez.