Macie Tuell named fifth Miss Nevada from Douglas County

Douglas High graduate Macie Tuell is the new Miss Nevada after being crowned Friday in Las Vegas

Douglas High graduate Macie Tuell is the new Miss Nevada after being crowned Friday in Las Vegas


Douglas High School graduate Macie Tuell was named Miss Nevada on Friday at the Orleans Showroom in Las Vegas.

It was a good day for Douglas High graduates, with former Miss Nevada Outstanding Teen Carli Gumm, winning first runner-up at the competition. Carli, competing as Miss Ruby Mountain, is the sister of 2016 Miss Nevada Bailey Gumm.

Carli Gumm


Tuell, 24, was competing as Miss Las Vegas, a title she received in 2020. Contestants retained their crowns for a second year after the 2020 pageant was shut down due to the coronavirus outbreak.

Tuell’s platform was “Memories Matter: Alzheimer’s Awareness.” A competitor in Poetry Outloud during her years at Douglas High, her talent was vocal. She is attending the College of Southern Nevada and serves as personal assistant to magician David Copperfield.

She will compete in the Miss America pageant in Uncasville, Conn., in December.

Tuell is a 2015 graduate of Douglas High School and won the Miss Douglas County pageant that same year. She was named Miss Douglas County Outstanding Teen in 2013, when she was 15 years old.

Tuell has also competed in the pageant as Miss Carson City and Miss Lake Tahoe.

She is the fifth woman from Douglas County to win the state title.

It has been five years since Bailey Gumm was named Miss Nevada.

The 1st runner up for the Miss Outstanding Teen Contest is Douglas County native Cheyenne McCormick, who is a senior at Douglas High School.

The first Miss Nevada from the county was Carol Lampe, who won the title in 1949.

The Miss Nevada Pageant is a different organization from the Miss Nevada USA Pageant, which made national news earlier this week by selecting the first openly transgender woman to compete in the Miss USA Pageant.

Miss Nevadas from Douglas County

2021 Macie Tuell

2016 Bailey Gumm

2009 Christina Keegan

1991 Malia Winn

1949 Carol Lampe


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment