Community spotlight: Empire Ranch offering Memorial weekend special

Empire Ranch is making this a Memorial Day to remember.

If you are a member of the U.S. military you get a free round of golf just by showing your ID.

For non-military people, Empire is offering a $35 rate, which includes a golf cart and a $5 coupon for the restaurant. And, if you wear red, white and blue you get a free bucket of balls. Wear camoflague clothing and get a free domestic draft beer.

Call the pro shop at 885-2100 to book a tee time.

• The team of Robey Willis, Duane Carroll, Dennis Justin and Geoff Swann shot a net 44 to win Flight A of the four-man scramble event on May 13 at Empire Ranch.

John Masiello, Nick Paul, Jim Green and John Lewis were second with a 46, and Henry Teague, Gene Gaston, Marshall McCurdy and Wes Franklin were third with a 47.

Charles Bell, Bob Blom, Paul Weller and a blind bogey won Flight B with a 40. Don Wilson, Donnie Curd, Greg Bentley and Al Giannotti were second with a 43 and Carl Slate, Vic Roscha, Bob Pitcock and Fred Blackburn shot 47.

Puccinelli group wins

at Silver Oak

Dennis Puccinelli, Jim Pursel, Doug Mcgilvray and Pat Lantis shot a net 109 to win the 4-man 2-net best ball event Tuesday at Silver Oak.

Philip Evich, Ron Tamori, Tom Rackerby and Roger Cartwright were second with a 110, and Martin Johnson, Doug Smeltzer, Steve Alcalay and Tona Smith were third at 111. Ray Moore, Joe Paden, Tim Bloom and Bruce Kozak were fourth at 114.

Smiteski wins tourney

at Carson Valley

Ken Smiteski shot a net 68 to win Flight A of Carson Valley Golf Club’s stroke play event on May 17.

Charles Poe was second at 69 and Dan Essary was third at 74. Frank Tislot won a tiebreaker over Matt Budjako to win Flight B. Both shot 67s. Brick Ludington was third with a 70. Bob Van Nort won Flight C with a 63 followed by Larry Lockwood with a 65 and Gary Carsten with a 66. Gerry Bing won Flight D with a 70, one shot better than Jason Martin and two better than Eugene Burger.

Chargers win flag

football crown

The Chargers won three more games to win the Talents flag football regular-season championship.

The Chargers beat the Saints (52-18), the Chiefs (38-13) and the Cardinals (44-13).

Zach Guthrie scored twice and threw for 12 scores, Alex Myrehn scored nine times, Decarlo Quintana added four scores, and Parker Story, Tristan Hawkins and Jesse Gaspar added two each.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment