District and board winners

While most eyes were on the countywide races, Douglas County residents also elected trustees to its many boards and districts on Tuesday.

The county's largest general improvement district elected two new members to its ranks. Shari James and Brad Newlon will join incumbent Jeff James on the Gardnerville Ranchos General Improvement District board that oversees Douglas County's largest single community. Incumbent Bruce Reavis did not win a third term on the board.

Only one incumbent was not returned to the Indian Hills General Improvement District when former board member Art Baer won the two-year seat knocking off Ronny Lynch.

Incumbents Denise Pierini, Bill Eisele and Brian Patrick all won four-year terms on the board.

The Minden Town Board race may have included most of the same candidates as the primary, but the outcome was slightly different. Candidate Matt Bernard hung onto his lead winning the race with 715 votes. Businesswoman Roxanne Stangle came in second with 680 votes and former Douglas High principal, Charlie Condron took the third spot, defeating William Souligny, Robert Hellwinkel and Robert Pohlman.

In Gardnerville, a Slater returned to the board when former Recorder Linda Slater won with 1,088 votes. Slater's husband, Randy, was the first person term-limited off the board in 2008. Ken Miller and incumbent Michael Phillips also won seats on the board. Board member Jerry Smith didn't win a third term.

Newcomers Shannon Harris and Greg Taylor won terms on the East Fork Swimming Pool Board. Incumbent Gordon Gray returned to the board. Incumbent John Swain and candidates Patrick O'Hara and Joseph Stubnar didn't make the cut.

Incumbents Michael Henningsen and Mark Dudley will be joined by former Minden Town Board member Ray Wilson on the Minden-Gardnerville Sanitation District. Former County Commissioner Bob Allgeier came up 174 votes short to make the board.

The county's executive officers made a clean sweep in the election, with even Public Administrator Lynn EnEarl re-elected despite submitting her resignation effective on Dec. 2. She defeated Independent American Sam Dupuis with 63.22 percent of the vote, a greater margin than that enjoyed by Recorder Karen Ellison, whose opponent Erin Chandler essentially disappeared during the election. Ellison received 62.4 percent of the vote in her race. Clerk-Treasurer Ted Thran defeated Independent American Robert Conner with 82.26 percent of the vote. County Assessor Doug Sonnemann, District Attorney Mark Jackson, and East Fork Constable Paul E. Gilbert were all unopposed in the race. All six victors are Republicans.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment