Brady replaced as commission vice-chairman

Doug Johnson will serve as chairman of the Douglas County Board of Commissioners and Nancy McDermid will replace David Brady as vice chairman for the upcoming year.

Commissioners approved Johnson as chairman, but McDermid won by a 3-2 vote, with commissioners Brady and Johnson voting to deny. McDermid, Jim Baushke and Kelly Kite supported McDermid's appointment.

The vote came at January's first meeting of the Douglas County Board of Commissioners.

Appointments to numerous volunteer boards serving Douglas County were also made and the following is a listing of those appointments:

n Incumbent Michael Olson and newcomer JoEtta Brown will serve on the Douglas County Planning Commission, a body that meets monthly to provide advice on land use planning matters, review development applications for compliance with local ordinances and provide oversight in the master plan process.

n Minden residents Elaine Pace and Stephen Talbot, both incumbents, were reappointed to the Douglas County Board of Equalization, which addresses property tax appeals by county residents.

Talbot was appointed chairman of that board.

n Incumbents Dennis Jensen, Russ Scossa and Fred Stodieck were reappointed to the Water Conveyance Advisory committee, a body that represents local irrigation associations and the impacts of development on those systems.

n Incumbents Mary Swerdfiger and Bob Cook were reappointed to the Douglas County Senior Services Advisory Council, together with a new member, Barbara Griffiths. A psychologist and Gardnerville resident, Griffiths is originally from California.

The council provides advice regarding the operation of the senior center, the senior nutrition program, and other senior programs.

n There were three vacancies on the Douglas County Parks & Recreation Commission, but only two were filled because no one applied for the one available only to a Tahoe Township resident.

Celeste Pierini and Elaine Flynn were appointed to the commission, which provides advice on policy matters pertaining to Douglas County parks resources and recreation activities.

n Incumbents Bob Chambers and Marilyn Malkmus were appointed to the Library Board of Trustees, the governing authority for the Douglas County Public Library.

n Incumbents Kristine Bruins, Robert Centanni and Shannon Casteel were appointed to the Genoa Historic District Commission, which reviews proposed building changes or development plans within the district.

n Four vacancies on the Airport Advisory Committee will be filled by Fred LaSor, who will representing the soaring community, Michael Bradford representing business, Brad Spires representing powered aircraft and Ed Hayes, who will represent the community at large.

The committee provides advice on policy matters concerning the management and development at Minden-Tahoe Airport.

n Susie Vasquez can be reached at or 782-5121, ext. 211.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment