Reno-Fernley Raceway awards presented

Reno-Fernley Raceway crowned its 2005 season champions and honored its staff with a gala awards dinner and ceremony at John Ascuaga's Nugget in Sparks on Saturday night.

Each of the champions won a car trailer in addition to an impressive trophy.

Vuki Wilson of Minden won the Dwarf Car championship, the first year for this division as a regular class at Reno-Fernley's 3/8 mile clay oval. The 318 Modified championship went to Rick Looney of Fernley. In the Modified Mini division, Melissa Natenstedt of Fernley became the first female champion in that class. Aaron McIlvain of Silver Springs took home the gold in the Pure Stock Mini division. Silver Springs driver Dean Clark topped the Hobby Stock division for the second consecutive year. Randy Reid took the championship in the very competitive Pro Stock division, and Robert Miller of Minden topped the IMCA Modified category.

Specialty awards were also given out, with Matt Sherman of the Pure Stock division taking the title of Crew Chief of the year. Randy Reid, Pro Stock champion, also got the long haul award, commuting from Oklahoma for the final five races of the season. Galen Reese's patriotic red, white, and blue IMCA Modified was judged best looking car. Vuki Wilson got a standing ovation for his Sportsman of the Year award, given for his efforts in building the Dwarf Car class and for assistance to other competitors.

Reno-Fernley Raceway will begin its 2006 season in April. The 2006 rules are available on the website, [


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment