Silver State Speedway honors season champs

Silver State Raceway's 1999 season champions were honored Saturday night at the annual awards banquet held at the Ormsby House Hotel/Casino.

Scott Bohemier (limited sportsman), John Burritt (legends), Dave Daniel (maverick), Mike Firebaugh (crazy-8) each took their turn at the podium to accept their trophy from Tom Price, technical inspector and assistant director of competition, and Robert Kline, director of competition.


Limited Sportsman division - Scott Bohemier (No. 8)

Age - 30

Years driving - 4

History - 1996 Rookie of the Year, maverick division; 1997 Rookie of the Year limited sportsman division; 1998 Most Improved Driver limited sportsman; 1999 Track Champion limited sportsman.

Car - 1999 Chevrolet Monte Carlo

Crew Chief - Glenn Koehler

Crew Members - Kathy and Tom Bohemier

Car Owners - Kathy and Tom Bohemier

Sponsors - Silver Oak Homes; Dynamic Diversified Development; Furniture and Carpet Barn; Sign Pro; Glen Lucky Pedal Advertisement; Capital Glass; Benchcraft Furniture

Family - Wife Jacqui; daughter, Jessica; son, Brad

Hometown - Dayton

Most memorable moments in road to championship - "My six feature wins and breaking my arm and still completing the year in a sling."

"I'd like to give thanks to Chet Danburg for all his help this year," Bohemier added. "I'd also like to thank my wife, mom and dad, Glenn Koehler and Chuck Wilkinson, for getting me where I'm at today."

Bohemier's plans for 2000 include touring other race facilities with Quick Silver Racing. "We want to travel and have fun while racing at tracks like Anderson, Altamont, Roseville (Calif.) and the open shows at Silver State Raceway."

Maverick division - Dave Daniel (No. 54)

Age - 30

Years driving - 2

Car - 1979 Pontiac Firebird

Crew Chief - Andy McCool

Engine Builder - Tom Wolcott

Crew Members - Andy McCool, Stacey Poor

Car Owners - Dave Daniel

Sponsors - Nevada Automotive Test Center; Chocolate Valley; Comstock Collision; American Industries Exhaust

Family - Significant Other, Stacey Poor

Hometown - Dayton

Most memorable moments in road to championship - "I set out to prove you didn't have to have three cars blocking for you to win," Daniel said. "I wanted to do things right. Race clean and may the best man win. Nobody gave us the championship, we won it. This was a long season and at times I thought about staying home, but we were having too much fun to do that.

"Last year, Don Hill (1998 maverick champion) said on the podium that he wanted to prove it didn't take a lot of money to win a championship, but consistency and clean driving. And I remembered that and wanted to do the same."

Daniel's plans for 2000 include transferring to the limited sportsman division and racing in Carson City, Roseville, Anderson and Altamont Raceways.

Legends division - John Burritt (No. 21)

Age - 22

Years driving - 10, last 2 1/2 in the legends division

History - Western States Nationals Champion, pro division 1998; 1999 Legends of Northern Nevada Champion Silver State Raceway.

Car - 1937 Ford Coupe

Crew Chief - John Burritt Sr.

Crew Members - Denny Hadler

Car Owner - John Burritt

Sponsors - Krown Racing, Nevada Automotive Test Center, C&C Fuel Injection, Reno Frame & Autobody; Burritt Engineering

Hometown - Sparks

Most memorable moments in racing season - Blowing two motors on the first night of racing, being able to rebuild one and finish second in the main event on the same evening.

Future (racing) plans - Race IMCA modified car at Fernley and various California tracks, both asphalt and dirt.

Crazy-8 division - Mike Firebaugh (No. 8)

Age - 28

Years driving - One

History -1999 Crazy-8 Champion Silver State Raceway

Car - 1979 Buick Skylark

Crew Chief - Doug Key

Crew Members - Cory Firebaugh

Car Owner - Mike Firebaugh

Sponsors - Reno Dodge; Glenn's Automotive

Hometown - Reno

Most memorable moments in racing - "Seeing my brother and best friend almost die in an accident." Referring to one particular night of racing at SSR. "This year has been a blast."

Future (racing) plans - "To enter maverick division and seriously compete for the championship." Firebaugh will be driving a 1982 Pontiac Grand Prix.

Other driver's awards given included: Most improved, Mike Fuller - mavericks; Ray Greathouse, legends; Dean Heller, limited sportsman.

Rookie of the Year - Randy Bauer, maverick; Brad Johnson, legends; Mike Millard, limited sportsman.

Sportsman Hard Charger Award - Craig Paulsen, limited sportsman. Tow Truck Award, Les Kipler; Upside-down Award - Jim Bawden.

Headache Award - Mike Fuller.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment