Thorson driver of the year |

Thorson driver of the year

Staff Reports

Tanner Thorson of Minden and Keith Kunz Motorsports came up big at the 75th running of the Turkey Night Grand Prix held on Thanksgiving night in Southern California.

Thorson, 19, piloted his No. 67 Toyota-powered Midget race car to an impressive victory in the 98-lap A-Main event on the half-mile clay oval Perris Auto Speedway. After running with the leaders from the start, he took the lead for good on the 93rd lap after Kunz Motorsports teammate Christopher Bell flipped.

Thorson never looked back after another teammate, Rico Abreu (who was the fast qualifier) left the track with a flat tire.

Thorson's victory enabled him to secure the 2015 National Midget Driver of the Year Championship. And he wound up second in the final Honda USAC Midget National Championship points standings, just 18 points behind Tracy Hines.

Note: Since its inaugural run in 1934 at Gilmore Stadium in Los Angeles, the Turkey Night Grand Prix has featured such racers as A.J. Foyt, Parnelli Jones, Bill Vukovich and Tony Stewart.

Tanner Thorson racing:” target=”_blank”>Text”>

Go back to article