Political season opens Monday with filing | RecordCourier.com

Political season opens Monday with filing

Staff Reports

Filing for nonjudicial office on Monday kicks off the 2014 election season.

Lots of folks have said they plan on running, but over the next two weeks they'll have to put their money where their mouths are, at least if they're running for paid office.

Filing for county offices starts at 9 a.m. at the Douglas County Clerk's Office. Filing for state office is handled by the Nevada Secretary of State's Office.

The filing fee is $100 for county offices, $30 for school district, or town offices that receive salaries and free for those panels, which don't offer their members compensation.

With more than 40 offices up for election, the Douglas County Clerk's Office is expecting a busy two weeks.

So far several countywide office holders have announced their intention to seek re-election to their partisan offices, including Assessor Doug Sonnemann, Recorder Karen Ellison and District 4 County Commissioner Nancy McDermid, all Republicans

Recommended Stories For You

Sheriff Ron Pierini and challengers Dave Brady and Michael Gyll have announced their intention to run, which would prompt the first primary for the nonpartisan office since 1994.

District 2 County Commissioner Lee Bonner announced last week that he wouldn't seek another term. Minden Town Board member Steve Thaler announced that he would seek that seat.

Thaler's town board seat isn't up this term, so if he were to win another town board member would have to be appointed.

Up for election this year are Charlie Condron, Roxanne Stangle and Matt Bernard.

Gardnerville Town Board member Mike Philips is termed limited, and attorney Cassandra Jones announced she plans to run for that seat. Also up this term for Gardnerville are Ken Miller and Linda Slater.

Douglas County School Board trustee Sharla Hales is term-limited this year, leaving an open seat. Also up for election this year are Tom Moore and Ross Chichester.

Genoa Town Board members seats Greg Pace, Brian Williams and Dave Whitgob are up for election.

Seats on Douglas County's 21 different taxing districts are also up for election this year.

With no incorporated cities, improvement districts administrate many of the county's communities, including its largest, the Gardnerville Ranchos. Indian Hills and Kingsbury Grade are also large improvement districts.

Special taxing districts also support the Carson Valley Swim Center, the Minden-Gardnerville Sanitation District and mosquito control.

Go back to article